Time for a rethink?

I recently read two blog posts that resonated with me, primarily because I have been giving the entire write/publish/sell-lots-of-copies notion a rethink and am wondering how I might change the way I approach my own writing and finding new readers for it.

This article is from Ninja Writer, Shaunta Grimes, and this one, Misbelief, is from the most-brilliant Seth Godin.

Please go and read both – I’ll wait …

Now, I’m not suggesting we all completely revamp our marketing plans and incorporate something as unusual as what Shaunta has created on her blog. Nor should we declare it all to be simply “snake oil sales” and write off marketing completely.

We do … or, at least, I do, need to start replacing my misbelief in marketing my writing with a better belief in my writing (and the writing of authors in general) overall – as Seth declares – and think even further outside the box – as Shaunta outlines she is doing.

Those who know me know that I’m not short on BIG ideas! I’ve posted a number of these ideas here on my blog (links are on this dedicated page) and several of these ideas came to me after reading posts and books written by Seth Godin. (If you are not subscribed to his daily blog posts, I suggest you sign up immediately. He really gets the creative juices flowing! Most Read vs. Best Sold – my purple cow is a case in point.) And I always like to think outside the box anyway … generally about the next-town-over from that box, in fact. I learned long ago that:

So, off I go to think differently, again, and revise, revamp, rejig the way I promote and find readers for my own books and for those written by author-friends. I don’t know what those changes will entail, but watch for something new on this blog and on my others, as well as in my use of social media. A change is as good as a rest, right? And that goes not just for me but for my readers and followers and fellow authors, too. In the meantime, I’m off to think and to read and to write. I do hope I can come up with some ideas that will be of use to everyone and of benefit specifically to readers out there. Maybe not quite like one of my childhood heroes …

… but you get the idea.

9 responses

  1. I really, really want to sell my books but I’m not sure I can morph into the pushy salesperson who make thousands of sales by using all the buzz words and bothering people – yet I’m sad when I don’t sell. I feel like a schizophrenic. 😦

  2. Thanks for the links – enjoyed both of them.
    Right now I’m not seriously marketing writing or art, but am seeing that as one said above, it has changed. You have to keep up – and people are so tired of being pitched at all the time. Social media is changing and blogging – including WP is definitely changing.
    Yes, you are right about knowing when it’s time to get off as all you get is exhausted.
    So time to catch another wave – change is exciting and necessary.
    Sounds great. Will stay tuned!

  3. I’ve never felt comfortable with marketing. It’s really not my thing. Selling my books feels like myself. (I know that’s silly, and I don’t feel like other authors are yucky for selling their books, but that’s just how I feel about my own efforts.)

    But I think you’ve made a valid point here. The old way of doing things just doesn’t work anymore. The market has changed. There are more books out there than ever before. But that doesn’t mean we should give up. There has to be an innovative, fun way of selling our books without spamming or making people feel “sold to.” If anyone can come up with a good plan, I bet you can!

    1. Thanks, Tricia! I’m still thinking …

  4. All the best with whatever you decide on, Susan. 🙂 — Suzanne

  5. I also struggle with marketing. It’s one of the least enjoyable aspects of writing for me. If I had my way I’d lock myself into a room and do nothing but write for weeks, with no communication with anyone, either in-person or via online. But alas, that is not possible or even wise. Anyway, thanks so much for making me think. It’s always good to think.

    1. Yes, always good to think, and assess, and take stock of what we’re doing. Not just with writing, but with life itself. Thanks, Cinthia.

  6. Write, revise and then market – the big issue for us who are not well-recognized authors…treadmill of creativity and reinvention.

    1. Treadmill indeed! But most important to see where it’s best to get off that treadmill when constantly being on it is no longer productive. Thanks, Felicity.

Leave a Reply

