FREE continuing promotion right under your nose …

READERS will also find this interesting (and they can *see below how they may help), but …

This post is mainly for all you angst-ridden authors out there who moan and groan about how little promotion and publicity you receive for the books you publish. Yes, it’s true, there are definitely fewer outlets reviewing books or interviewing authors. So what are we supposed to do to get the word out and attract new readers to our work?

I have a cunning plan!

When I ePublished my first novel, I received “some” attention (i.e. Not a lot …) for my efforts, but I carried on regardless and continued to promote other authors, as well as my own books, through my business Alberta Books Canada. Then I moved back to the Caribbean and become much more involved in the online writing community, especially with regards to indie authors around the world who were in the same boat as me – wondering how the heck to promote our books effectively. And how to attract new readers to books in general.

Once I became part of that community – of bloggers as well as indie authors – I realized there really WAS a lot of promotion available out there, and simply for the asking. We bloggers all usually have the same problem: what to write about for the next blog post. I discovered there were many sites looking for authors to interview and books to review, and also that were interested in posting guest spots on various subjects. So I began searching for blogs that would be interested in me and my books. Once I had a few links collected of my own promotions, I created a dedicated page for the novel on my own blog. If you click on Island in the Clouds and scroll down the page you’ll see I’ve added every link I could find. (Hint … Use Google to seach not only your own name, but the title(s) of your book(s). You’ll be amazed what comes up there!) This list on my blog is for the benefit of readers who may be interested in finding out more about me and my books. Only now I’m letting all those other sites do the talking for me.

In Nov. 2013, I began publishing another blog, Reading Recommendations, and have promoted more than 300 authors there for over 3 years. Many, many, many of these authors have “paid” me back in kind by reading and reviewing my books, interviewing me, or allowing me to post a guest spot on their blogs. I promote them, they promote me back!

So that’s how I managed to amass such an impressive looking list of promotion links for my novel!

But rather than just sit on my laurels and allow that page and those promotions to go unnoticed, I have regularly gone back to ensure those links were still valid and even reposted them all, one at a time, to social media, either Facebook or Twitter for me, thereby breathing new life into what were at the time (and still are!) excellent promotions of me and my books.

So … here’s my cunning plan for all of you out there looking for FREE ways to continue promoting your work – Do as I have done and repost any links to promotion you’ve received in the past. To make it easier on yourself, I suggest you create a page, as I did, and list everything there. That way it’s easy-peasy to go to the page, click on each link, and share it again, and at any time. I also have a Facebook page for my novels now, Bequia Perspectives Novels by Susan M. Toy, and post to that first then share on my personal Facebook page. My reasoning for reposting all of this early promotion is that I’ve attracted new readers and friends and fans over the years since these links were first published, so there’s bound to be someone out there who will be interested in reading them.

But the other thing I hope will happen – and this is the kicker, is that one of those readers who sees my reposting of promotion on social media will think enough of it to want to share with their own friends. And that, folks, is the beauty of social media … you just have no idea how far these shares will travel or who might be introduced to you and your books simply because you reposted an old promotion. Remember … no matter how long ago you may have published, your book is always new to a reader who has never read it!

Now, because I also promote other authors on my Reading Recommendations blog, I decided to start the repromotion ball rolling for that group and ran this announcement to the Facebook page, Reading Recommendations – a blog for Readers:

Here’s a promotion tip for all authors who have been featured on Reading Recommendations and reading recommendations reviewed … You’re always most welcome to re-post your promotion links anywhere, on your own website, blog and social media. You might just manage to attract new readers to your own work. I’ve been working through the lists alphabetically, trying to repost all of your promotions, but if each of you were to do this for yourselves, as well as for one or two of your fellow authors I’ve featured, there’s no telling how far the reach would be – for everyone! Besides, it’s free promotion and you’ve gotta love that!

That was a couple of days ago and, so far, I’ve noticed only 1 (ONE!) author has taken my suggestion and reposted all her RR promotions to social media. But she’s an author who constantly promotes my blog as well as promotions for other authors, so I wasn’t surprised. I am disappointed, however, that no one else has taken me up on the suggestion. So that’s why I decided to write this blog post, explaining the idea once again, and I hope to reach more of you out there. I encourage you to do as I do, in this case, and promote the pants off of whatever promotion you already have! And, while you’re at it, promote one or two – or more!, of your fellow authors, as well, because it’s not all about you, ya know … and it’s the right thing to do, so let’s share that love around!

The other thing that will happen is you will draw attention to those original links again, to the bloggers and sites where you were promoted – and, believe me, that renewed interest and increased traffic for old posts will not go unnoticed by those bloggers! You’ll be doing them a favour by attracting new readers to their sites, as well.

There you go! How to ensure FREE continuing promotion that’s right under your nose … Now get out there and share!
(And, please, I absolutely, positively encourage you to reblog this blog post on your own blog!)

*READERS, I haven’t forgotten you! Please consider getting in on this idea of free promotion by helping your favourite authors reach new readers. Whenever you see a promotion link posted, share it among your own friends, tell your book club/local library/local bookstore about the author and their books. We appreciate all the help we can get, but when you recommend our books to other readers and make them fans, that’s just pure gold! And we can’t thank you enough!

11902343_911237195613908_4450841270707343966_n

54 responses

  1. Reblogged this on Let me give YOU the Moe-down and commented:
    Some REALLY EXCELLENT advice.

  2. Fabulous idea, Susan! I’m relatively new to the wonderful world of blogging, and I just love the networking and sense of community. Thanks for all that you do. Your support for fellow authors is wonderful and inspiring! 🙂

  3. Good idea for bloggers too. My blog post traffic lasts 2 maybe 3 days and many posts including blog tour posts never get viewed again.
    Brings a question to mind too Should I re-post old reviews and other posts on twitter?

    1. I can’t think of a downside to this …

  4. Thanks for the reminder Susan.. was offline most of the weekend but have made up for it .. in the Blogger Daily this evening.. Sally….

  5. Brilliant article, tweeted this on @bakeandwrite.

  6. Reblogged this on How the Cookie Crumbles and commented:
    Susan Toy shares fantastic advice on promotion.

  7. This is a fabulous idea. I’m keeping this to read again as I’ve whizzed through it on first run. 🙂

  8. Great idea! I need to do more of this. It helps the author and the blogger. Win-win for everyone!

  9. What a simple, yet brilliant idea. A page of such links will up your SEO, regardless. I will be taking your advice. I haven’t put nearly enough time into my blog space.

    1. Thanks for reading and commenting, Jaq! Hope this works for you.

  10. You are so kind to share all these ideas. One smart cookie.
    I always like your promotional page for each title with links – great when you are refreshing to feature an author or when talking to book clubs or librarians (That page can even be emailed /printed out to give to a librarian so he/she can find out more when you bring up the title to them)

    1. And another brilliant idea from you, too, Philmouse! Thanks for that, and your continuing support, of course!

  11. Reblogged this on Fiora Books – an amazing article! Thank you!

  12. Reblogged this on Fiora Books and commented:
    An amazing article for Indie authors and avid readers!

    1. Thank you for reblogging!

  13. I Tweet most every post I visit, and greatly appreciate all that you do. I seldom go back to old posts, but perhaps I should get into that habit.

    1. It’s been working for me and, really, it can’t do any harm!

  14. Reblogged this on Fiction Favorites and commented:
    Excellent advice from one of the best author promoters. Repost past promotions. What a great idea.

  15. An excellent cunning plan and one I will be following. Thank you.

    1. Thank you! Best of luck!

  16. I’ve had a page with all my guest post links for a while now. But I never thought about reposting them. Thanks for the idea!

    1. Best of luck with that, Staci! Let us know whether it works for you.

  17. Great idea… And I would but I very seldom get my PC and Facebook to work together. …the machine crashes or freezes.

    1. You already do so much reblogging for everyone, Sue, and those reblogs are shared on FB by many of your readers. Why not ask your readers to further help you by sharing your links further than you can reach to do them yourself? (Sorry, but I can’t help you in the computer tech dept!!)

      1. I already do, Susan… but the choice is always with them 🙂

  18. Reblogged this on lucinda E Clarke and commented:
    This was definitely worth a reblog. I’d not thought of reposting old interviews etc. Great idea. 🙂

    1. Thanks for reblogging, Lucinda!

  19. Thanks Susan, you are tireless in your ideas for authors. I am going to bookmark this and follow your cunning plan!

    1. Thanks, Wendy! Do let us know if you make progress with this.

      1. Yes, I will! Will also get around to reading Island in the Clouds soon – reading commitments sky-high but I’m ploughing through and this is one I am really looking forward to.

      2. I know what you mean about reading commitments! Thanks for placing my book on your stack!

  20. such brilliant, helpful advice. Thank you so much!

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting!

  21. Guilty as charged! It’s one of those things I will get down to at some point when I’ve cleared my desk of the other stuff I have to do. It sounds a really good idea and at one time I did make a point of listing in a file the links to articles/interviews/guest posts so at least I have started!

  22. I put some of my guest post links on my About page. I also tweeted and shared on Facebook my post in Reading Recommendations. Thanks for this idea Susan.

    1. Hope it works to spread the word further!

  23. Some great ideas here which I plan to implement. Thanks for all you do for other writers.

