2017 – the choice of attitude

When I opened my email this first morning of the New Year, I received notice from Seth Godin, one of my favourite thinkers and writers, of a new post on his blog. He writes a post every day, so that’s not the unusual part of this. He also writes poignantly and succinctly, capturing a profound thought quickly, getting right to the meat of what he has to say. Unlike me with this long preamble. (He’s a great writer for someone as verbose as me to study, come to think of it …)

Anyway, I read The Choice and it resonated with me, especially on this first day of a New Year, with new possibilities, and all that. (Go off and read the blog post. It’s short. But come back when you’re finished …)

See what I mean? It’s the way I’ve been trying to live my life for years now, but Godin ties it all up neatly with a bow and presents it as a kind of a gift to me, an affirmation that the way I’ve been thinking all along is the way to continue forward.

2751c364b3dbba62e53dba2dd6c913f1

So, as I’ve said previously on this blog:

I choose to be positive, and I’m negative on negativity …

I choose to participate by promoting and helping other authors to get their writing noticed and read.

I choose to challenge the status quo of the writing and publishing biz with, as Godin calls it, My Purple Cow, among other ideas

I choose to be intolerant of intolerance, and will continue to keep a closed mind to close-mindedness.

I choose to be optimistic that the cheaters and bullies will never win in the end. To choose hope instead of fear.

funniest_memes_it-s-all-about-attitude_17908

Really, as Seth Godin says, “We choose them [the attitudes] and do the work.” It’s as simple as that.

Sure, there are a lot of things happening right now in our world that we can’t change, but changing our attitude towards those things and those people is a good start, don’t you think?

1201862

9 responses

  1. Susan, what a great choice to make again for the new year! It’s all too easy to feel deflated by the unethical practices of others, but I’ve always admired your commitment to helping other authors and refusing to be anything but stalwart about your own ethics. The publishing industry continues to change, often so quickly it’s difficult to keep up. The positive changes for self-publishing authors are due to people like yourself. Keep up the good work, my friend.

    1. Thank you so much, Connie!

  2. This is a great post. In life, there are many things that are out of our control. But we can control our attitude and reactions. I’m going to choose hope and happiness this year.

  3. To choose hope instead of fear, I liked this one. In present world it signifies our mental condition and the amount of fear we all carry within us. Just imagine it all that is converted into hope, things will change for sure. Hope is much stronger and it is the necessity of mankind today.

    1. That’s what I’m hoping for!

      1. Yup me too πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

      2. Thanks for reading and commenting! And for following too.

      3. You are welcome, following someone like you is my pleasure 😊

Leave a Reply

