Best Books Read in 2016 – Part 3

When I posted Part 1 and Part 2 of this series, I didn’t take into consideration that the year was not yet over and I might read more books I highly recommend in those remaining weeks – and, indeed, I have! (I also discovered a few books I had overlooked when compiling my first two lists.) Links for authors featured on Reading Recommendations are included. Every book listed here is rated at 5 stars from me.

So, here we go with THE REST OF THE LIST!

Indie-Authored

17049859

Drunk Chickens and Burnt Macaroni: Real Stories of Afghan Women by Mary Smith
(No More Mulberries, also by Mary Smith, is listed as a Best Book Read in Part 1 of this series.)

Traditionally Published

images

Baudelaire’s Revenge, a novel by Bob Van Laerhoven

final-cover-celtic

Celtic Lightning: How the Scots and the Irish Created a Canadian Nation by Ken McGoogan

33003097

Confessions of an Inadvertently Gentrifying Soul by Bill Engleson
(I also reviewed this book on my blog, reading recommendations reviewed.)

16799045

Belle of Batoche by Jacqueline Guest

And BIG congratulations to Jacqueline Guest who has just been named a Member of the Order of Canada by Governor General David Johnson!
25814351

The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu: And Their Race to Save the World’s Most Precious Manuscripts
by Joshua Hammer

And … the very-most-recent book, a novella, by Fredrik Backman that has been translated into English!
And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer

31140489

See my rave about Fredrik Backman’s other books I read this year in Part 2 of this series.

And, looking ahead into 2017, I’ve had the great pleasure, and honour, of reading an advance copy of Felicity Harley‘s new novel, The Burning Years, which will be published in the spring. Don’t worry, I’ll make sure you hear about this book the moment it becomes available. Not only is it well written, but I believe it’s going to be a very important book for everyone to read. (Felicity has previously been featured on Reading Recommendations and has had a lifelong association with the island of Bequia.)

14 responses

  1. Reblogged this on Authors to Watch and commented:
    More book recommendations from Susan Toy!

  2. The covers on their own are enticing. 😉

  3. I’m reading Baudelaire’s Revenge at the moment, but I like the sound of all of them. Happy 2017 reading!

    1. So good to hear that, Olga! Please come back when you’ve finished and tell us what you think of Bob’s book.

  4. Great recommendations, thank you and Happy New Year.

    1. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  5. […] looking for some great books to read, check out my Best Books Read in 2016 series: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3. Or have a look at my two other blogs: Reading Recommendations and reading recommendations […]

  6. Susan, in my fluish (as opposed to flush) delirium, may I say thank you for including me in your list. Best of the season to you.

    1. Sorry to hear you still have that flu, Bill. I hope you get over it before the New Year begins!

  7. Thank you so much, Susan. I didn’t expect you to have even started Drunk Chickens, let alone finished it! I’m delighted you enjoyed it.

    1. I loved both books so much, Mary! You transported me to an entirely different world and culture and I was fascinated (as well as angered, by the treatment of women!) by all that went on during your life lived in Afghanistan and other places. Is all an incredible contrast to the “culture shock” I’ve dealt with on this beach-y tropical island. You are one very brave and determined woman who gets results!

  8. […] of these authors have already been recommended by me on this blog. Here are links to Part 2 and Part 3 of this […]

Leave a Reply

