Kind words from Philmouse … and a giveaway!

onewomanisland-cover-draft-3

Blogger, Philosopher Mouse of the Hedge, has been a great support to me and of my writing since we first “met” through another blog. (I think we began by discussing the problems surrounding the virus Chikungunya that I had contracted, and the conversation continued to cover eradicating mosquitoes, travel in the Caribbean, and my first novel.) Philmouse, as I now call this blogger, wrote an extremely complimentary review of Island in the Clouds, and was kind enough to read an advance copy of my new novel, One Woman’s Island, and provide me with an excellent review.

So excellent, in fact, that I pulled a blurb-worthy extract from that and am using it now in my advertising and promotion materials for both novels published so far in the Bequia Perspectives series.

Philmouse also recently posted to her blog and wrote about both books in an extremely flattering way. (Link below.)

Instead of just reblogging this post on my own blog, I thought it fitting to give you this little bit of background, above, and offer a giveaway of the eBook version of my new novel to celebrate Philmouse’s kind words!

We’ve decided to make you work a bit before you may enter. The winner’s name will be drawn from all correct replies we receive here on this blog. In order to enter, answer the following 2-part question correctly (Both parts must be correct!)

What is Philmouse’s actual first name and which city does he/she live close to?

The astute will read the clues I’ve placed in this blog post and should be able to discover the correct answers in at least one of the attached files. Good luck!

Here’s the beginning of Philmouse’s post:

Wind in her hair. Departing wishes

Chilling north wind whips her hair. She stands for it. Faces it head on. Can’t rip the genetic memories out of her.

Those dreams took root generations ago – in the warm Caribbean trade winds far far away. As an immigrant, she has done her best to “grow where you are planted”, but suburban life leaves her cold and longing. Her paradise lost.

“Do humans ever feel this?” she wonders. “Probably not.”

And again she tossed her fronds high – reaching for all the stories the wind was bringing from home.

Continue reading here …

15078594_10153797299991710_5198226490069634408_n

5 responses

  1. […] Like contests with prizes? One here. Storm over there. […]

  2. Nothing as much fun as a Christmas mystery! Thanks for the gift of friendship
    (and let the fun begin)

  3. Not that I need the giveaway. But I’ll send my answers via email as publc answers seem like giving away the game. Let me know when you want me to post a review on my blog …

    1. And you are absolutely correct in your answers, roughseas! Thanks for not spoiling the fun for everyone else. Plus, it was your blog where Philmouse and I met, so thanks for that, too. (You may post a review at any time – Thank you!!!)

