Remembering Mona, My First Friend on Dominica

My fellow Queen’s alumna and Caribbean resident, Gwen Whitford, has written a beautiful tribute for a Dominican friend she recently lost. My condolences to you, Gwen, and to all of Mona’s family and friends.

Ti Domnik Tales

mona-1999 Mona George-Dill was a beautiful, dynamic and gracious Dominican woman.

It is with profound sadness that I write this post as a tribute to Mona George-Dill, my first friend on Dominica.  She departed this earthly life and ascended to heavenly paradise on Sunday October 30, 2016.

It is she to whom I give credit for guiding me during my early days in Dominica and helping me to understand a culture very different from my own.

Perhaps it was serendipity that brought us together in 1997.  I was looking for a place to live that would give me an improved quality of life, as I had been suffering from severe environmental health challenges in Canada for several years.  When I started to research other countries that offered clean air, food and water, I rigorously quizzed Mona, who was at that time the Manager of Springfield Plantation Guest House and a research…

View original post 1,715 more words

One response

  1. Such a beautiful and touching post and memorial to Mona. She definitely sounds like she was a very special lady. My heart goes out to you today, Gwen, for the departure of such a wonderful friend!

