no joy in Mudville …

The shortlist for the writing contest I entered has been posted and … my novel did not make the cut.

I had kind of hoped that, since Tues. was my birthday, my luck might have lasted long enough that I would have been chosen. Oh, well ..

So now I’m back to Plan A and working in earnest to prepare the manuscript to be sent to the eBook formatter for publishing.

Well, “earnest” is maybe a bit of a stretch. There’s a lot of work still to be done, blurbs to be requested, promotion to be organized and set up, (and, yes, even recipes to be tested!) before this novel will be ready to purchase and read.

So continue to watch this space for updates and new announcements about what’s going on in my world.

In the meantime, I’m so thrilled because I actually sold 3 (three) eBook copies of Island in the Clouds last month!! (It’s the little things that count, and I really do appreciate every sale and every reader.)

onewomanisland-cover-draft-3

22 responses

  1. Janice Richardson

    Sorry Susan, wish your luck had held.

    1. Thanks, Janice … but it did!! (See next blog post.)

  2. I’m so sorry your book didn’t make the list. You’re a phenomenal writer, so I know this book will be just as amazing as your others. I can’t wait to read it.

  3. I’m so sorry about the shortlisting, Susan. I’m sure good things are ahead for your new book, though. I agree that the cover is great. πŸ™‚ — Suzanne

  4. The cover is great. Like everyone else, I am surprised your book wasn’t chosen. Better things around the corner I am sure.

  5. Dang! I thought for sure …

    1. Thanks for your confidence in my writing, Kevin!

  6. Drat. Not possible. Sorry to hear this news. Something better waits on the horizon. ❀ πŸ˜€

    1. Thanks for your optimism, Tess!

  7. It is not an unfamiliar path for most authors, Susan. All the best.

  8. I like the cover. You knew that.

    1. Thanks for your continuing support, roughseas! πŸ™‚

  9. Sorry to hear that your book didn’t make the cut. So pleased you have a Plan A to revert to. Always good to have options. πŸ™‚

  10. So disappointing 😦 It can only mean your book is slated for bigger and better things, Susan. I look forward to reading it!

  11. Sorry it didn’t make it. Look forward to hearing when it will be coming out. Intrigued about the recipe comment – sounds good.

