Happy Birthday to US!!!!!!

It’s my birthday … again! (And, I know, celebrating another birthday is better than the alternative …) I thought I’d reblog this from three years ago, when I turned 60 – you do the math. The rest of this blog post is all the same, but this year I’m celebrating my birthday in Canada (and wearing the gold and pearl earrings my mother gave me on my 21st Birthday).

So Happy Birthday to Me and to my Birthday Buddy, Mike Tubbs!!

Books: Publishing, Reading, Writing

I’m going to tell you all a story, so gather round …

Long ago in a place far, far away (well, Toronto is far away from where I happen to be right now), Lo, and two babies were born to two mothers who did not previously know each other (as far as we know), and in the same hospital, Toronto’s East General, on the same day, and AT VIRTUALLY THE SAME TIME!!! – or, about a half-an-hour apart, give or take a few minutes.

The boy had red hair; the girl dreamed of remaining blonde forever. (And there was no chance that these children could have been switched at birth, because the hair colour would have been an immediate give-away that something was amiss. That’s not the direction this story is moving, anyway.)

The mothers may have met and chatted during their time in the hospital. We have no way…

View original post 359 more words

13 responses

  1. Happy Birthday to you and your birthday buddy!

  2. Happy birthday to you both!

  3. Happy birthday, Susan! And what a great story to go with it. Toy n’ Tubbsie together again. 👫

  4. Happy birthday to you both. Lovely story – I love connections and coincidences.

  5. I really enjoyed reading your original story. I like thinking about things come together and the twists and turns of fate. Quite an intriguing story.

  6. Hope both you and Mike enjoy your day. However you choose to do that. With age comes acceptance that another birthday is something to be celebrated. Not in a noisy way, just a ‘still here’ way.

    Felíz cumpli and many happy returns.

    1. Thank you, roughseas!!

