Finally!! The wait is over … nearly

It’s been one-month-and-a-day since I wrote this Guest Post on Seumas Gallacher’s blog, in which I listed the 10 ways I was dealing with having to wait for my editor, Rachel Small, to finish her edit of my recently completed novel, One Woman’s Island (the second in the Bequia Perspectives series).

onewomanisland-cover-draft-3

I’m happy to tell you now that Rachel did get that manuscript back to me in plenty of time so I could revise and fix it up to meet the deadline for a contest I linked to in this earlier blog post. And I did make it, too – with an entire day-and-a-half to spare!

And so I wait … again. But this time only for another week until the shortlist is announced. Once I know my novel’s fate, I’ll be able to determine when I can go ahead and ePublish.

In the meantime, I’ll be sorting through ways to promote this new book and figure out how I’m going to afford the cost of printing copies, for those who prefer print .. and for The Bequia Bookshop to sell, come tourist season.

I’ve also been helping both Tim Phillips and Michael Fay publish new eBooks through IslandCatEditions and Island Shorts.

And I’m making changes in my head to the third Bequia Perspectives novel, Tropical Paradox. But there’s a great deal of work yet to be done on the manuscript, so don’t expect to hear an announcement about that any time soon!

A PDF of One Woman’s Island is circulating among a few trusted friends/readers (especially those who know Bequia) and I’m hoping for an honest opinion of the book in advance of publishing. I’ll also ask to use any favourable comments in future promotion once the eBook is released. Already I’ve been sent over-the-top comments from one Bequia friend who read a pre-edited version, so I’m hoping other advance readers will be similarly pleased with this new novel. I’m all goose-pimply now, waiting for their comments …

But at least this time I haven’t had to mow the lawn to pass the time, since Dennis has been visiting the trailer. We did decide yesterday to subscribe to the park’s internet service though and, as predicted, I’ve been online pretty much the entire time since we first logged in. So pathetic. One thing is that being online (mostly playing on Facebook) does pass the time. While I wait.

And they do say that good things come to those who wait. Here’s hoping THEY are correct!

28 responses

  1. […] when Susan Toy asked if I would be interested in reviewing My Camino Walk by Timothy L. Phillips, I was intrigued. […]

  2. My very best as well 🙂

  3. Bravissimo!!

  4. Congratulations, Susan. It sounds like things are moving right along for you. That’s wonderful. All the best as things progress with your books. 🙂 — Suzanne

  5. Reblogged this on WHAT THE HELL and commented:
    Won’t be long now … Congratulations, Susan!

  6. Just read your guest post and I highly recommend the gardening, especially this time of year. But of course, I love working in the yard and often find some interesting ideas blooming amongst the weeds. 🙂

    1. Thanks for reading and commenting! For me, cooking has always been my means of meditation – not unlike gardening, actually, but you get your hands dirty in a different way. 🙂 Happy gardening … and writing!

  7. Author Rebecca Heishman

    Congratulations!

  8. so excited for you! ❤

  9. Good luck with the competition, Susan. Fingers and toes crossed for you.

  10. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Susan Toy is well on the way to releasing her long awaited novel One Woman’s Island.. looking forward to being part of the promotion… early reviews look terrific.

    1. Thanks, Sally! And for reblogging, too!

      1. Will keep a space for you when you are ready.. I did email Timothy but have not heard back.. I will post his new book fanfare tomorrow as planned.. XX

      2. Thanks for that too, Sally! Will let him know.

  11. Good luck with the competition Susan! Whatever the outcome, your book is sure to be a hit!!

    1. Thanks for your vote of confidence, Darlene!!

  12. All the very best to you 🙂

  13. Fingers, toes, and all else crossed for you, Susan!

    1. Thanks, JP! You’ll be the first person I tell when the wait is over. Wouldn’t want you getting unnecessarily cramped!

  14. Great news, Susan! Fingers crossed for you.

