A small request of all my readers …

iitcYes, I know this news is going to be hard to believe, but after 4 years in publication (both as an eBook and in print) Island in the Clouds will finally have a sister-novel to share your shelf or space on your eReader! I finished writing an umpteenth draft of One Woman’s Island a week-and-a-half ago and now it’s in the hands of my editor, Rachel Small. I think at this point in time, after writing and rewriting the story of Mariana on Bequia these past 12 years, I’m more relieved than excited. Now comes the ultra hard work of preparing the final edited manuscript for ePublication, sometime later this year.onewomanisland-cover-draft-3

That publication date has been moved back further, however, because yesterday I discovered this link to a competition for which the new novel qualifies. But the novel needs to be unpublished. Might as well give that a shot first, I thought. What is there to lose? Other than more time before I can actually publish it.

18598024So, while I wait for the edit to be completed and the MS to be prepared for submission to this contest, I figured it was as good a time as any to promote my writing in general, and build more awareness of the Bequia Perspectives Novels as well as my IslandShorts novella, That Last Summer. And this brings me around to my “request” in the blog post title …

If you have read either Island in the Clouds or That Last Summer (or both!) and enjoyed reading them – but you haven’t yet posted a review online about either, I would appreciate you doing so now, on Goodreads, Amazon, Kobo, iTunes, your library’s website, or your own blog. I’m hoping to build up awareness for my writing in general so when I begin promoting the publication of One Woman’s Island I have a solid fan base in place who will do the heavy-lifting of informing and, hopefully, exciting different readers about the new book. If you have already posted something to do with me or my writing on your own blog I have likely added that link to this page or this one. If your interview or review are not listed there, please let me know so I can include you.IS (Also, now available as an eBook, One Woman’s Island!)

Now, I know some readers are shy and don’t want their thoughts and opinions posted in public, and especially not online. I appreciate and understand that feeling! If you have read my books though and enjoyed them enough to want to tell me about that enjoyment, then please send me an email (susanmtoy (at) gmail.com). Your review can be as brief as you’d like to make it. And I promise never to divulge your name if you want to remain anonymous, but do let me know if I may post and quote your comments on my blog – without your name attached! – so potential readers have a chance to see what “someone” thinks of my books and my writing. Whatever you decide, please do write and tell me whatever it is that you think. The best way for any author to improve is to listen to comments made by their readers. After all, it’s you we’re writing for in the first place!

What I hope to achieve by all this, of course, is a build-up of word-of-mouth promotion. You who are already satisfied readers will become, I hope, the foot soldiers in my campaign to promote the new book. If you DO want me to quote you in future publicity then let me know I may use your name. A review with a real name has so much more credibility, and I’ll be using the best of those as bullets (not real gun bullets, of course!) and endorsements when I finally do release the next book in my Bequia series.

The other way for you to become involved in this promotion campaign of mine is by telling your friends about my books, and encouraging them to read what I’ve already published. Then, if they like what they read, they will anticipate the future publication of my books. A readership is something we authors build one reader at a time … and by writing books readers enjoy reading.

So thanks to everyone for reading through my post, and for any help you may be able to offer.

And remember … I am but one author out here who is writing and publishing. There are many, many others who can also use a hand in the promotion of their books. Never discount the effect your personal recommendation has on any book you read and enjoy. Please don’t keep that enjoyment to yourself – tell others about it! An author’s success may just depend on your initial recommendation! (I feel so strongly about this concept that I created the Reading Recommendations blog.) And for those of you who would like to take this a step or two further, here are 99 Ways to Spread the Word About a Book You Love.

Thanks for reading – and commenting and reviewing! I could never have come this far without all of you loyal readers, and I appreciate every single one of you!

11902343_911237195613908_4450841270707343966_n

41 responses

  1. Hi Susan,

    I published a review about “Island in the Clouds” a while ago on my blog: https://owlishbooks.com/2016/02/22/island-in-the-clouds-susan-m-toy/.
    I’m intrigued by “One Woman’s Island” and as soon as I can get my hands on a copy, I will happily read and review that too :).
    Best of luck, Loes

    1. Thank you, Loes! I’ll be sure to notify you as soon as the new book is available!

      1. Great, thanks! I look forward to it 🙂

  2. […] in plenty of time so I could revise and fix it up to meet the deadline for a contest I linked to in this earlier blog post. And I did make it, too – with an entire day-and-a-half to […]

  3. Always happy to help in whatever way Susan. 🙂

  4. […] as I sent the MS to Rachel (with a guest post on Kristina Stanley’s Mystery Mondays and the post, A small request of all my readers, on my own blog …) But I’ve also been thinking ahead by asking two friends who well know the […]

  5. YEA! You are so organized and this looks like a good plan. (Contest – cool!)Can’t wait for the new one..hmmm will have to consider some sort of post..where is that thinking cap….

  6. Best wishes with your new book. I will share online, ❤️

  7. Huge congratulations Susan! It’s taking so long for me to finish the sequel to Atonement, Tennessee that I’m embarrassed to even mention book 2 at this point. Susan — the time it took makes it an even greater accomplishment! Mega hugs.

  8. Reblogging. Good luck.

    1. Thank you for commenting, following and for your good wishes!

  9. Good luck with your new book – you are a really exceptional writer – and if you’d like me to do a promo on my blog close to the publication date, just say the word. Keepin touch!

    1. Thank you, Noelle! Much appreciated.

  10. Reblogged this on Don Massenzio's Blog and commented:
    Please help Susan out with her new book

  11. Hello. Glad to have discovered your blog which I am now happily following.
    All the very best. Kris
    https:///awritersden.wordpress.com/

    1. Thanks so much, Kris! Happy you found me and I hope you enjoy what you read here.

  12. […] Source: A small request of all my readers … […]

  13. I love your writing. I can’t wait to read the new book, and when I do, I’ll definitely share my review with the world.

    1. Thank you so very much, Tricia! I always know I can count on you!

  14. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Susan Toy is delighted to share the news that her new book will be available later in the year. In the meantime she is asking that if any of you have read her book Island in the Clouds,and have not yet reviewed, that you might consider doing so. I reviewed Susan’s book earlier in the year and included that and the review by Seumas Gallacher.. Perhaps you might like to take a look.. https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/2015/04/21/five-star-treatment-island-in-the-clouds-by-susan-m-toy/

    1. Thanks so much for reblogging, Sally, and for all you do to promote me and my books!

  15. Rock it, Susan! And best of luck in the contest. That’d be a nice badge to put on the cover when you do publish.

    1. Thanks, Kevin! It’s good knowing you’ve always got my back!

  16. Congratulations on another fine accomplishment, Susan!

  17. Good luck with the competition.
    I’ve put a review up of Island in the Clouds on both Amazon US and UK. It’s not a very long review – I’m really crap at reviewing.

    1. Thank you, Mary! Every review is a good review, no matter how long or short! I appreciate you taking the time to post it!

    1. Thanks for reblogging, Gerald!

  18. Oops! It was ‘That Last Summer’ I bought for my Kindle. Not Island Shorts. :o) But I will still write a review.

    1. Thank you, Mrs. Completely! That Last Summer published by IslandShorts. I really appreciate your support!

  19. Congratulations Sue, I cannot wait to read it.

  20. I just purchased Island Shorts from Amazon for my Kindle. I will be MORE than happy to write a review. Good luck with the contest. :o)

  21. Congrats! What a glorious feeling to get this accomplished. Looking forward to more on the island life.

    1. Thanks, Susan! And thanks for being one of those who has posted to your blog about me!

  22. Sue, I can’t wait to read One Woman’s Island. In the mean time, I
    think I previously reviewed/wrote about your other creations on my blog and elsewhere. At this point, I would have to re-read to refresh my memory and enjoy them all over again. If it can wait until summer, I’d be happy to post more about them. But right now, I am so focussed on my overseas move that I can hardly think of anything else!

    1. Thanks so much, Gwen! I know you have written about Island several times on your blog, and sent me photos of the print copy in Dominica, including at the Library (you also orchestrated having the book included in the library’s collection!). You’ve done a lot already for me and my books, but more is always appreciated! The summer would be perfect, once you’re settled into your new home. And the good news is that the weather in Canada is getting better with every passing day, so come on up!

