Zika is the new Chikungunya … an update

Not to be alarmist or anything, but …

NO! I DO WANT TO BE ALARMIST WITH THIS BLOG!!!

I’m reblogging a post I wrote in June 2015, part of my series about the virus Chikungunya that so many of us suffered from in 2014, and that some are still suffering from today, if the number of hits those posts continue to receive is any indication.

Last June, a brand new mosquito-borne virus named Zika was beginning to enter the Caribbean. At that time, we were told that it was a “Chikungunya or Dengue Fever-like” virus, but we had no idea then of the long term effects this particular virus would have on pregnant women who contracted it and the babies they subsequently gave birth to.

Here’s a report from Barbados of their first documented case.

And a more recent report: Three Zika virus cases confirmed In Barbados

And an absolutely alarming video of what’s been happening with babies born since last June … It’s reported that there have been over 3500 such births in Brazil alone!!

And finally, a report released today by the CDC that the first cases have been reported in the US.

Following is the blog post I wrote back in June 2014, and in all this time not one word has come from the St. Vincent Government by way of warning to citizens and tourists, and there have been no plans discussed as to how we will be better prepared this time to combat these blasted mosquitoes that are carrying the new virus. Other than the NGO Rise Up Bequia posting to its Facebook site, I have seen nothing at all about this virus. You’d think they would have learned from Chikungunya, right?

Perhaps now that the US has reported cases, our local Caribbean governments will begin to take this new virus much more seriously and we won’t be caught as we were with Chikungunya, essentially closing the barn door after the horses had already escaped.

And a word of advice to the authorities … fogging with chemicals has never, ever worked to eradicate mosquitoes in the past. All it does is kill off the honey bees and poison the rest of us on the island. We need to clean up all standing water and any places where mosquitoes breed. And every citizen must become vigilant about this. We can’t afford to wait for the government to do this for us. We also can’t hide our heads in the sand again, claiming that this will scare away the tourists. We owe it to those tourists to be honest, to warn them of the dangers involved should they contract any virus, and let them decide whether they want to take the risk. Really, there would be little risk involved, if they are made aware of the need to always use insect repellent – and (a BIG if here) if the people of the Caribbean do as much as they can to clean up the environment and diminish the number of mosquitoes.

So, yes, alarmist, but I believe the alarm is necessary. I would not want anyone to have to go through what I did with Chikungunya. I still have problems with pain in my shoulder, a full year-and-a-half after I first contracted the virus. NO ONE needs to be unnecessarily exposed to any virus, since we really do have the means to rid our islands of mosquitoes.

Here’s my blog post from last June:

At the very least, this new virus has a name that’s easier to spell and pronounce. But it’s still yet-another virus the Caribbean region must contend with, and only a short while after declaring that ChikV was over and done with in most islands.

12-year-old girl first in the Caribbean to contract the Zika virus 

It was less than a year ago I contracted ChikV when I returned to Bequia for a few weeks to spell Dennis while he paid a visit to Canada. Throughout the months of suffering … and yes, I do not use the word “suffering” lightly! … I wrote about the virus in a number of blog posts (collected here) that received a great deal of attention from around the world and comments written by others who had also contracted the virus while they were visiting, or living in, the Caribbean region, and who now took comfort in the knowledge they were not alone, that they were likely not going to die, and that they would eventually, eventually recover and feel “normal” again.

Well, here I am, writing this 11 months later, and I can honestly say I am feeling about 96% recovered, the only lingering pain being that soreness that seems to be inside the very bones of my right shoulder. That still bothers me every once in a while (just last night, again), but is not excruciating or debilitating, just annoying.

So you may understand my trepidation with the announcement of this new easier-to-spell-and-pronounce virus, Zika. I am gun-shy about travelling to the Caribbean again any time soon. While I currently sit in the woods of Ontario, surrounded by clouds of mosquitoes, I at least know these are the non-virus-bearing variety. Besides, they’re also large enough to carry away a small dog and move so slowly I have a fair chance of actually swatting and killing them before they can manage to bite. It seems like more of a fair fight to me. The mosquitoes on Bequia are sneaky and have a way of beating all our attempts to eradicate them – especially the fogging with poisonous chemicals, which was the only attempt made by the government to deal with Chikungunya last year, and instead resulted in the kill-off of part of the bee population. The mosquitoes themselves somehow managed to dodge that bullet. What stopped the further spread of the virus was that nearly everyone on the island contracted it and, since the virus could not be spread from human to human, it eventually died out, naturally. This is what’s called “herd immunity”.

Let’s hope Caribbean health authorities and governments learned from their mistakes last year in dealing with ChikV and, instead of hiding their heads in the sand (believing that by doing so they were somehow protecting their tourist industry), they take immediate action to stop the spread of Zika, the new kid on the beach, before it gets a foothold. No one … NO ONE! should be made to suffer again as we all did last year with Chikungunya. Bad enough already we have to contend with the constant threat of Dengue (which I have had), Malaria, West Nile, and all the other mosquito-borne diseases, fevers, threats, than to be worried about Zika, as well.

And we can begin eradicating viruses such as Zika by educating the people! This blog post, and the other earlier posts I wrote about ChikV, are my attempt to spread the word to help stop the spread of the virus. Please share this, and my other posts, wherever possible so that many more people read and hear about these mosquito-borne viruses and learn to take proper precautions.

SPREAD THE WORD TO STOP THE SPREAD OF ZIKA!
(How’s that for a slogan?)

I want to hear from you, if you contracted Chikungunya last year and have been following my blog posts abut the virus. How are you doing? Have you now recovered? Please post a comment below and let me and my readers know of your experience. I really do want to hear from you!

18 responses

  1. I’ve seen this warning on CNN. It’s disturbing. I hope this disease doesn’t reach India. It would have horrible results with the number of babies born here. We do have several mosquito-borne diseases here already. Thanks, Sue. I’m still trying to catch up with my emails. —- Suzanne

    1. I’m afraid to say that it’s likely been in India already, since it’s been around since 1947 when it was discovered in Africa. But there haven’t been these epidemic proportions seen before. let’s hope we can find a way of dealing with the mosquitoes so this virus and the others eventually die out altogether.

  2. Here is an article on the BBC website published today: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-35370848

    1. Thank you for sending this link! There has also been a report on CNN and Canada’s CBC Radio since I wrote this post. As well, the St. Vincent Health Dept. has finally issued warnings to its citizens about the threat of Zika. So we’re at least making progress in the area of public awareness.

  3. Zika is a real threat. A case hospitalized here last week (woman had traveled,and looks to have been infected on trip. 2 more traveler cases are now hospitalized. The local med. community/mosquito control jumped on this last week as one of our local mosquito species is perfect for hosting Zika (I did a post on it, too). They are already testing for the virus in buzzers here. Maybe this next cold front will bring a freeze – the bugs are out there and biting. This week the CDC issued travel warnings for women and said this summer may mean women should stay inside.
    Your experience persuaded me I definitely do not want to get Zika or Chiku.
    Rockies are looking pretty attractive!

  4. I just read about this in my morning paper. I’m especially wrung out over the pregnant women and their new babies. I have posted this on FB.
    Even in Ontario, no matter what I spray on against mosquitoes, nothing works.The little devils think I’m some kind of delicacy. I wouldn’t last in the Caribbean or Brazil at all.

    1. Thanks for spreading the word about this, Tess! As you may imagine, a lot of our tourists come from Ontario. I hope the Canadian government starts warning citizens about the risks of this virus. It took a long time for them to get on the ball over Chikungunya.

      1. This IS scary: birds, mosquitoes, chicken flu, mad cow. . .

  5. […] Source: Zika is the new Chikungunya … an update […]

  6. Reblogged this on texthistory and commented:
    A strange new virus in the Caribbean.

    1. Thank you for reblogging, Barb!

  7. Thank you for calling attention to this. To date, I haven’t heard of this, so I’m all the more grateful for the post and reblog! Shows the merits of following Chris and Susan!

  8. Reblogged this on Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog and commented:
    Susan Toy with a warning that not only should the authorities in the Caribbean take note of but also tourists visiting the Islands.

    1. Thanks for reblogging, Chris!

      1. Welcome Susan – Author Claire Fullerton is currently in Malibu…

  9. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Susan Toy with a warning that not only should the authorities in the Caribbean take note of but also tourists visiting the Islands.

    1. Thank you so much for reblogging, Sally!

