On Bequia – More satisfied readers of “Island in the Clouds”!!!

I love it when things like this happen!!

I wrote the novel, Island in the Clouds, and released it in 2012, first as an eBook then in print. I was on Bequia shortly after the eBook version was released and was trying to drum up some interest by posting announcements about it around the island, including at a friend’s restaurant and bar.

Who de author

Then this happened(And here’s the reader’s subsequent review.)

The novel has continued to be “discovered” by tourists visiting the island and I’ve received some pretty terrific compliments and reviews of the book from people all over the world as a result – people I had not previously met.

Sales and discovery of the book have slowed down considerably over the past year or two. I get it! The people who read and enjoyed the first novel set on Bequia are waiting for me to finish writing the second one – and I’m writing as fast as I can right now!!

So, it’s especially gratifying when something like this happens …

Dennis, as most of you know, is a property manager, and he looks after a number of foreigners’ homes on the island. He was working on a Saturday morning at one of the houses that had been rented over the Christmas holidays to a Canadian couple. He told me the woman was READING A PRINT COPY OF MY BOOK (the “house” copy, as it happened) while he was there, and she commented to Dennis that the book could be about him, because the main character is a Canadian who runs a property management business.

Dennis laughed and said, “No, it’s all fiction in that book.” Then she asked what it was that I did on Bequia.

“She’s an author.”

“Oh, what’s she written?” the woman asked.

“Well, that book you’re reading, for starters.”

He told me all this when he returned home later that morning, and also said the woman was enjoying the book immensely. Since then, her husband has read it as well and they told him they were going to buy a copy to take back home with them at the end of their holiday. So I signed a copy and sent that over with Dennis to give to them. (They insisted on purchasing it!)

It just all reminds me that we never know who will read what we write or how they will come to our writing. In this case, I heartily thank the homeowner for being such a big support of me and my writing, and for providing a reading copy of my book for her guests to “discover”.

Unlike the reader in the first instance (in the link I included at the beginning of this story) who was actively seeking out books set on Bequia, many tourists and visitors will never see the ads I place in Bequia This Week

Island_clouds

or set foot in the Bequia Book Shop or the Bequia Tourism Association office

DSC00511

to find out what “local” books may be available. I have to depend upon word-of-mouth promotion from my readers and friends who will share what I write in whatever way they can. And then I have to hope that readers, like this Canadian couple, who do “discover” my book will now take it home with them and tell this same story I’ve just told you about how they first met and spoke with the property manager whose partner is the author of a book they enjoyed reading.

Because it’s personal stories like this that help sell the stories we all write!!

17 responses

  1. […] I love it when things like this happen!! I wrote the novel, Island in the Clouds, and released it in 2012, first as an eBook then in print. I was on Bequia shortly after the eBook version was released and was trying to drum up some interest by posting announcements about it around the island,…  […]

  2. We anxiously await the next book after meeting the “property manager”. The book is a gem about the most beautiful island in the Grenadines and a great read, could not put it down.
    Deb & Tim

    1. Thank you so much – again! I hope to meet you too the next time you return to Bequia!

  3. Fantastic! And, what a memorable day for Dennis! Eagerly awaiting your 2nd book! πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks for all your support, Jay!

  4. So great! And happy writing πŸ˜‰

  5. Reblogged this on Authors to Watch and commented:
    Island in the Clouds by Susan Toy continues to receive well-deserved praise. If you haven’t read the book yet, there’s no time like the present.

  6. That’s such fun. Those unexpected gems are the best!

  7. I hope to one day be in your shoes, promoting my book! (Alas, I need to finish it first πŸ˜‰

  8. bettyjanehegerat

    I love it! One of my dreams going way back to when I started writing seriously, was to be sitting on a train or plane beside someone who was reading my book.

    1. And these people were reading the print copy, too, which bears a bullet across the front cover provided by … Betty Jane Hegerat! So perhaps they did take note of your name as an endorsement of my book and will now look for books written by you, my friend!

  9. Brings tears to my writerly eyes! πŸ˜‚ Congrats!

    1. One at a time, Kevin … one at a time.

  10. I love this, and you are so right! This is solid verification that you’ve written a good book, and I thank you for sharing this encouraging vignette with your followers! Happy New Year to you!

  11. Awesome story! (So that second novel is nearing completion?!)

    1. Oh, ye of little faith …

