A New Focus for a New Year

HPIM0981

I’ve been thinking long and hard about how I’d like to move forward in 2016 with all my blogs, not just this one. I now write and publish three others – Reading Recommendations, reading recommendations reviewed, and The View From My Trailer and Verandah. Each is very specific as to what gets posted there, leaving this main blog to become the mish-mash/catch-all for my ideas, promotions, book and author news, and information. In looking through past posts for the purpose of reblogging whatever still seems relevant, I’ve also discovered a lot of outdated information, links, and thoughts that I’m now archiving.

My personal interests have also moved from the specifics of writing, getting published, and surviving-as-a-writer-aspects of the business to effective promotion and finding Readers for what we write. I’m still very interested in libraries, public and personal, but not much at all in bookstores and bookselling per se. In fact, my loyal readers will realize that I’m not interested at all in the numbers – whether they be sales figures, or numbers of followers on social media, number of reviews and ratings or even the number of subscribers here on my blogs. My intent with my own writing, blog posts and stories, is to find more Readers who enjoy reading what I and other authors write. Period.

I am, and always will be, interested primarily in reading – both what I read and the way and reasons and types of books that other Readers read.

So I won’t be writing any new blog posts about how to write a book, or how to find a publisher or on self-publishing what you’ve written. I’ll talk a bit more about marketing and promotion, but that will mainly be posted as guest posts first for my blogging friends. (I’ve already collected many of these posts I wrote previously in a dedicated page above.) There are a few draft posts on writing and publishing that I’ve had queued up forever and I may still publish these, but for the most part I’ll be narrowing my topics and subjects of interest beginning now.

For those of you who require direction because you are still struggling with your writing or deciding how to publish or trying to figure out how to sell more copies of your books, there are many, many more bloggers out there who cover these topics far better than I ever have. And you can find links to a lot of these bloggers by checking out Chris The Story Reading Ape’s Resources Page. In fact, Chris’s blog is a great place to subscribe to as Chris really does keep on top of whatever is being published on other blogs by reblogging the very best of those posts himself.

I’ll also increase blogging about food and eating, because I’ve kind of strayed away from that other activity in my life that has always been important to me.

And cats! Although you’ll more likely find posts about my cats in my other blog, The View From My Trailer and Verandah.

So here’s to a New Year, a more focused blog, and lots more news and information about books and reading and Readers and all those people out there who love books and great writing!

And remember, if you are a Writer then you must also be a Reader!

1916951_1101440236533267_1493051477936770732_n

12 responses

  1. […] you should ask, because I’ve recently refocused my main blog (https://islandeditions.wordpress.com/2016/01/03/a-new-focus-for-a-new-year/ )  and will be primarily writing about promotion and finding new readers. Here’s one of the blog […]

  2. […] you should ask, because I’ve recently refocused my main blog (https://islandeditions.wordpress.com/2016/01/03/a-new-focus-for-a-new-year/ )  and will be primarily writing about promotion and finding new readers. Here’s one of the blog […]

  3. […] I made a resolution not to write about writing any longer, as in how to write or get published or how to self-publish, I began […]

  4. I look forward to reading all of your blogs in 2016, and maybe even contribute to one or two. Can’t wait to see the posts on food and eating, which happen to be two of my favourite topics as well. Yum!

  5. How, how, how do you maintain so many blogs? Maybe I will have to interview you and pick your brains for your secret strategies. I have only two blogs (a writing and a running blog) and they often overwhelm me. Anyway, now I’m going to have to check out your other blogs. Cheers and hope you’re having a great New Year’s. P.S. I love Nora E. I’ve read “Heartburn” at least five times and still laugh like crazy at each reading.

    1. I have a lot of good author pals I can call on to help me with two of the blogs … 😉 And I guess I just get inspired a lot as far as the other two are concerned. Or I use them all as a means of working on my next novel, which I really should be doing.

      Happy you found me though, and I hope you discover something in the blogs to bring you back again for more visits!

  6. Sounds like you’ll be having some interesting posts this year, Susan. Happy New Year! 🙂 — Suzanne

  7. Cats & Books! I can get behind that 🙂 Happy New Year!

  8. Many thanks for including a link to me in your great post Susan – it’s always difficult to decide priorities, but once made, go along with them to see if they work and revise those that don’t (the old Management tool PIER – Plan, Implement, Evaluate and Revise) 👍😃🐵

    1. Thanks, Chris! And you do such a great job at what you do, why would I want to reinvent the wheel? Thanks for all the support and help and reblogs!

      1. You’re welcome Susan – I try 👍😃🐵

  9. Oh lovely little kitten… indeed I love cats and good books (in front of the fire)! I agree with you about making choices. Sometimes you need to do so, and concentrate on some topic which really “call” to your Mind/Soul… and believe me, cats are the best companions no matter if you are reading or writing a novel.
    Thanks for remembering that Chris’ blog is the best to get some hints & tips… won’t forget it.
    I wish you a healthy 2016 full with news emotions and experiences!
    :-)claudine

