Before you click “Send”, think again …

On April 7, 2011, I posted I’m negative on negativity to this blog.

That post came to mind this morning when I received a negative comment on a positive status update I had posted. Why, I wondered, are there still so many people out there who feel the need to rain on everyone else’s parade? Are their lives so miserable and negative that they must bring people like me down to their level? It’s not just me who receives these comments, though, but others who also choose to post positive thoughts. I see negative comments all the time.

Plus I just lived through a very negative Canadian election (not unlike the one I describe in that post from 2011) during which I wanted to scream out, “Instead of telling us who you plan to vote OUT of office, please tell us the positive reasons why those you’re voting for will be better for this country!!”

And now I’m back on Bequia again and am in an “election” situation much like the one I just left in Canada. (Election is in quotation marks, because the prime minister is dithering about officially setting the date, hoping for the most strategic date that will be beneficial for him. He’s running out of time. But the mud has been slung in this country for ages and all the negativity surrounding politics and politicians is unlikely to change … ever.)

So I am truly sick and tired of negative comments and negative people in general. From now on, I will delete any comments made on my Facebook status updates, and I will unfriend those who continue to be so negative on my wall and in their status updates. (I’m not talking about those who share important information about injustices and atrocities in the world, but rather the people who will always choose negative over positive to discussions without adding any glimmer of hope as to how things might be improved or problems solved.)

Life is too short to take time to read and respond to those negative ninnies who will always live under a rain cloud that darkens their outlook on life. Much like the character, Joe Btfsplk, in Al Capp’s comic strip, Li’l Abner. “He is well-meaning, but is the world’s worst jinx, bringing disastrous misfortune to everyone around him.” (Wikipedia)

Fair Use of an excerpt from March 20, 1947 Li'l Abner strip. Although this is still under copyright, inclusion here qualifies for Fair Use under US Copyright law.

Fair Use of an excerpt from March 20, 1947 Li’l Abner strip. Although this is still under copyright, inclusion here qualifies for Fair Use under US Copyright law.

I’d rather be a Pollyanna any day!

Please do think before you click “Send” and, if you realize what you’re about to post is something that will not add to the conversation but may even be considered simply negative or hurtful – even mean-spirited – to the original poster, just hit “Delete” instead. Sometimes the world does not need to know every thought you harbour, let alone those thoughts that are purely negative without any attempt to offer a positive solution.

12 responses

  1. There are so many people who are depressed and need help. They should get help instead of spreading a negative attitude causing others harm.

    1. Yes! The internet is definitely not a substitute for receiving professional therapy.

  2. As my mama always said, “if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.”

  3. I completely agree! Some people are negative or argumentative when there is no reason for it.

    1. Sometimes I think it just comes down to envy.

  4. YES! How I wish I could also hit delete when I mistype a text. My mind’s intentions and my finger’s nimbility (my own word) often go awry.

    Writer Advice Managing Editor, http://www.writeradvice.com
    Author of YOU WANT ME TO DO WHAT? Journaling for Caregivers &
    Author of TALENT (coming 11/01/15 from Eternal Press)

    1. Nimbility … I like that!

  5. Reblogged this on Reade and Write and commented:
    This is a great reminder of the downside of social media–thanks, Susan!

