Books on Book Marketing for Indie Authors

Thanks to Nicholas C. Rossis for reposting my reading list and adding more to it!

Nicholas C. Rossis

From the blog of Nicholas C. Rossis, author of science fiction, the Pearseus epic fantasy series and children's booksThe information here comes mainly from a great post by Chris The Story-Reading ApeSusan Toy’s posts on book marketing, as well as a few more sources. I added the links to make it easier for you to check out or buy the books.

* Books with an asterisk are only available in paperback.

Freebies

First of all, a free resource, courtesy of our very own P.H. Solomon: recommended Reading for Writers.

Books on Publicity, Promotion and Marketing

View original post 381 more words

4 responses

  1. I finally had time to go through this post and I’m so glad that I did, because this one contained some gems. I clicked on one of the links “Why Does My Book Not Sell? 20 Simple Fixes: Indie Publishing by Rayne Hall and I decided to buy the Kindle version. It only cost pennies and even though I’ve only read a small portion of it, I feel that it is already worth every penny that I’ve spent. Some of the advice was eye opening, such as how asymmetrical cover design is more appealing than symmetrical design. I never thought much about that, but her examples were compelling. But what REALLY grabbed my attention were all the “what not to do’s” when promoting your book. I was pleased to find that my instincts in many of these areas were correct (don’t send spam emails or make your Facebook friends want to “unfriend” you because you’ve been annoying). I didn’t want to do these things to promote my books, but then I was left with the “but what SHOULD I do” quandary. Rayne Hall always suggests alternatives, some intuitive (or should be – promote to your target audience) and some that I had not thought of. So – thanks for this post. After I’ve read Rayne’s book front to back and over and over, I will return to this post to see what over gems are offered here.

    1. Thanks so much for reading, Sharon, andd for telling me what resonated with you. As you know, it’s important to receive feedback about what we write, so to hear that you found it valuable to you certainly makes me feel as though I hit the mark! Best of luck with your own marketing efforts!

    2. Thank you so much, Sharon! Rayne’s is a wonderful book. For some extra (and free) ideas, you may also check out my post, http://nicholasrossis.me/2014/10/11/i-just-published-my-book-now-what/

  2. Many thanks for starting off this list with your excellent posts! 🙂

