Road Trip to Edmonton

When I was a sales rep for publishers, I routinely made the road trip north from Calgary up Highway #2 to see customers in Edmonton. I drove to Edmonton again yesterday for the first time in many years and … not much has changed! Except for the highway name, as it’s now designated as “Queen Elizabeth II”.

I remembered too this short story I wrote during that time I was a rep, when I was inspired by the song One of Us I heard on CKUA Radio (my constant companion on all my Alberta driving trips!) performed by Joan Osborne, while I was on one of those many trips.

So today, as I was driving south once again along that same highway, I thought I’d reread this story when I arrived back where I’m staying … and make it available for others to read, if they’re interested.

Goes to show, you just never know how or when you’ll be inspired or discover a story that needs to be told.

Picking Up God on the Way to Edmonton

13 responses

  1. I just found your story on Goodreads and had to read it. While not very religious, I find the idea of a somewhat eccentric, amiable God who cares about individuals so much that He goes out of his way to meet and speak with them endearing. Yes, there is prayer; but without the comforting tsk-tsking and laughter at the right points, it’s often difficult to believe anyone is listening. Thanks for this story.

    1. Thank you for reading, Connie! I’m not religious by any means, either, but I do have a philosophy that we are meant to always question and wonder and try to figure out what this life and world of ours are all about. We should also question and doubt those who tell us they have all the answers and that we should follow them and believe everything they teach. Doubt is healthy and it’s something a great many in this world are lacking at the moment.

      I’m so sorry we missed meeting when I was in Edmonton that day.

  2. Hilarious – especially to anyone who’s been on the road.
    “We both have scheduled to keep”…and are behind.”I have another appointment”…
    Hippy Dippy weather man. Oh, Susan, this is really a good one. Thanks for the great read – and smiles

    1. Thanks for reading and commenting, philmouse! Happy to hear I’ve created smiles out there!

  3. I have much to learn, Susan. I’ll be taking a closer look at hitch hikers. Sure could use one of those journeys. Thanks for sharing.

  4. stopped to read your posts for a long time. Now I pop in now and again. Want to tell you I love this story. Has me imagining what a drive like that might feel like. Put a smile on my face. Thank you for sharing. A delightful read and things to think about. 😀

      1. You are more than welcome. 🙂

  5. Lovely story–vivid, funny, and true!

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting, pamkrist2014!

  6. Sue, I loved your story about God. It got me to to think about some heavenly issues of my own! I realize that you haven’t headed south yet. I expect you are waiting for winter. Ha!

    1. That could happen at any time now in Alberta! But I am flying back to Bequia on Oct. 27 – Dennis’s birthday and Independence Day in SVG. Thanks for reading the story, Gwen!

