Disaster on Dominica: Tropical Storm Erika Ravages the Nature Island

My good friend, Gwen Whitford, has lived on the Caribbean island of Dominica for quite a number of years now, but was in Canada when TS Erika passed through last week. She is safe, but the entire island was devastated by this storm. Please read Gwen’s blog post and click on the links she provides, if you are able to help in any way. Thank you.

Ti Domnik Tales

While enjoying a peaceful summer afternoon in the wilderness of Eastern Ontario, Canada, I half-listened to the 4p.m. news on the national (CBC) radio station on Thursday August 27th.  In this remote area, I had no Internet connection to link me

The storm clouds  that threatened one day in Eastern Ontario, Canada were mild in comparison to those that carried devastating rains to Dominica vai TS Erika on Wednesday August 26, 2015. The storm clouds that threatened one day in Eastern Ontario, Canada were mild in comparison to those that carried devastating rains to Dominica via TS Erika on Wednesday August 26, 2015.

to the outside world. As I focussed on  reading a fascinating book, I thought I heard the word ‘Dominica’ (but pronounced incorrectly) and something about deaths resulting fromTropical Storm Erika. Initially, I assumed that the announcer was talking about the Dominican Republic. The news clip was only 30 seconds long, so I knew that I needed to find out more.  Although I had patchy cell phone service, I called my neighbour on the Nature Island…

View original post 733 more words

