It’s not all in the numbers …

Sally Cronin, the blogger behind Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life, reblogged a post from Hugh’s Views and News, titled Is Your Blog Living By Numbers? Very good post, and I urge you to read both Sally’s intro and Hugh’s post itself.

This reminded me of a post I had previously written about being fixated on always checking the numbers, so I dug back into the archives and am including the link here as a reminder or, as I say in the post, a revelation. It never hurts to repeat yourself on these subjects, I find.

There are no Write-By-Numbers kits …

When I was a kid, we spent our summers at the family cottage, north of Toronto. Two entire months to amuse ourselves – preferably, according to my mother, out-of-doors. But there were often rainy days we’d be forced to spend inside, and one of the “hobbies” I got into was Paint-By-Numbers. My parents would buy a kit and I’d create a work of art (in my mother’s eyes only, of course) that would then be framed to hang on a nail. But eventually, over the years, that painting would either fall behind the furniture, or be replaced by a genuine work of art. I prided myself on those “paintings” because I managed to keep inside the lines and always used the recommended colours of paint.

So much for encouraging any creativity or originality.

Read the complete blog post

8 responses

  1. Great post Susan. I’ve left comment on Sally’s blog as I somehow wasn’t able to comment here before. 🙂

    1. Thanks for reading and commenting, dgkaye!

  2. Thank you for the mention Susan. Glad you enjoyed the Post, and thank you to Sally for reblogging it.

    Have a great week.

    1. Happy that I have now found your blog, Hugh, and so have my readers!

  3. I have reblogged the original Susan.. I used to love my paint by numbers sets and I have to admit when I was feeling less than creative last summer I was tempted to buy myself a set…..

    1. Thanks for reblogging, Sally! And we all do suffer from those bouts of a lack of creativity, don’t we?

      1. It’s great to meet you and your followers, Susan. And I see we both use the same blog theme 🙂

