On reviews and reviewing – an update

On Aug. 9, I posted to this blog about having received a review of my novel that contained spoilers. I asked what you thought I should do and many of you responded with a great deal of information about your own experiences dealing with reviewers and suggestions on how to handle this situation.

My editor sent the reviewer an email asking her to consider removing the spoilers or at least to warn readers from the outset that her review contained spoilers. The reviewer immediately replied that she would amend the review.

I learned a great deal from working through this situation – mainly due to your very considered comments on the post. I thank you all for reading and for your support. I hope my blog post and the links I included have also been instructive and helpful to others.

13 responses

  1. Always a tricky situation. Glad it worked out. (Apparently the gremlins unsubscribed me to your blog – working to fix that)

    1. Thanks, philmouse! It’s always a pleasure to receive your comments!

  2. A good review should never spoil. For that, we have Cliff Notes. A review should entice the reader to want to get the book! A review that spoils is a bad review, or it’s something else. At a minimum, spoilers should always be clearly announced so the reader can choose to stop there.

    1. Thanks, Norbert! That’s what I thought as well. As a reader of reviews I prefer knowing what the author did right or wrong and why the reviewer did or didn’t like the book so that I may make my own decision as to whether I wish to read it. This review was like watching a movie trailer that, after it’s ended you think, “There, now I can save both time and money, because that trailer has just told me everything about the movie I need to know.”

      1. Exactly. And unfortunately, for many bad movies, that’s exactly what the trailer contains. All the jokes in 1 minutes.

  3. It drives me batty when a reviewer puts in basically every detail of a book. I’m glad though you were able to get the reviewer to amend the review.

  4. Great solution Susan, I think you and Rachel adopted the right, non-confrontational approach.

    1. Thank you for the suggestion and advice, roughseas!

      1. Always happy to help. You have my email if you want ideas or whatever.

  5. Hurrah! A peaceful solution to a pesky problem. And let’s hope the reviewer learned something in the process…

    1. Drat! Now I have to get back to finishing that second novel …

  6. […] WARNING – SPOILER: This story has a happy ending … […]

