The Nostalgia Walk

Only a few hours in my old neighbourhood of The Beach in Toronto, so I tried to make the most of my time …

Just missed the Main St. bus as I came out of the Danforth Go Station.

It was a nice day, not too cool and I was wearing a light sweater anyway. Decided to walk down Main and Southwood.

Saw a Blue Jay (actual bird, not baseball player) and passed the plaque in front of the boyhood home of Glenn Gould. Lily of the Valley plants lined one walkway.

Around the corner of Williamson Rd., I smiled at memories of my elementary school, named after the street, then on to Wineva. Kids were heading in the opposite direction back up the street to school after lunch.

I crossed Queen with the help of the crossing guard who has been working that corner for more than a decade.

Continued south on Wineva for a brief visit with my sister and friends, caught up on the news over tea and sandwiches.

Out to walk again, south to the boardwalk and beach where I saw a pair of Cardinals (again, the bird kind).

Not busy but the weather was warming up enough that there were a number of people sitting on benches as well as the usual dog walkers surrounded by packs of all sizes and breeds.

Past the Leuty Lifeguard Station that always says, “Welcome back home!” to me every time!

West along the boardwalk, past the empty skating rink and the full tennis courts.

North on Kenilworth to Queen and a left turn to continue west to my eye doctor’s office.

East again along Queen, past Bellefair. I stopped to look at #3, my grandparent’s house. Kew Park on my right, gardens filled with tulips of all colours. Past the Beaches Branch of the Toronto Public Library (Hooray!!) and Mr. Hollywood selling his pencils in front of the grocery store.

Past the storefront where my grandparents once ran a fish & chips shop, and where my parents met before World War II.

Then round the corner again from Queen to Wineva and back to my friend’s house. She drove me to the GO Station. (And, thank goodness, as my feet in new shoes were killing me!)

IMG_0005

8 responses

  1. Nice detail of our fair city!

  2. I don’t know Toronto well enough but I enjoyed your tour as well. 🙂

  3. Great post! I enjoyed your walking “tour” of Toronto!

  4. Thanks for taking us on the journey.

  5. Thank you, Readers, for “walking” with me!

  6. Sounds like you’re having a wonderful time – thanks for the “walk”!

  7. Author Rebecca Heishman

    Lovely. I feel as if I walked along with you.

  8. bettyjanehegerat

    Lovely piece of nostalgia, Susan. I’ve never really believed that you can’t go home again. Yes, the place will be different, beloved people will be gone, but the memories are there.

