An Open Letter to #Indie #Authors regards Marketing Yourselves…

Thanks to Mr. Ape for this timely blog post (and for including the link to my guest post series I wrote for him on Marketing!). Thanks, Chris, and lucky for all of us you’re willing to promote for bananas!!!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

You KNOW I love you ALL to PIECES and I try to help you any way I can – BUT…I’m not an ape who beats around the bush (except to find food of course) so I’ll say it straight…

You’re driving me spare with frustration…

How?

By your apparent lack of imagination!

I DO NOT mean when it comes to your storytelling talents.

I mean, when it comes to Promoting / Marketing yourself and your book(s).

Take the following common methods for example:

BOOK BLOG TOURS

The same promotional wording, layout and general pitch on several host blogs, sometimes interlinked with schedules of where and when (often up to a three week period) the beleaguered follower of many of these blogs is forced to either, click on the Like Button to show the blog host that they support them, or, stay away rather than to read the same promo post…

View original post 413 more words

4 responses

  1. Thanks for that Susan. In fact, I find the reblogs from the same network, and the same gushing praise pretty off-putting.

    When I checked out the review posts for Artisan, they were refreshingly honest. They aren’t in ‘the circuit’ and few of them have many if any comments. But they weren’t sycophantic which is where some of the author networks are heading. Most reviews are largely opinion based, eg I liked this story or I didn’t because … Few are objective, ie this was a good book because, and, whether I liked it is secondary.

    I’ve stopped doing individual book review requests on my blog right now, as why would I do that for someone from out of nowhere? Blog commenters and previous authors excepted from that. I’m not prepared to be less than honest, and I have a readership I want to cater for.

    I read very few book reviews that engage me. I think sometimes what we read, is not the review, but the person writing it. Do we trust them? Their judgement? Why did they like it or not? How good are they at presenting their opinion of the story?

    I was planning a post on reviews shortly 😀

  2. I’ll comment on here rather than Chris’s.

    I put a lot of effort into all my book reviews, as you know. I’ll go the extra to try and make it interesting. Photos, questions, whatever. For free.

    I do not use the same promotional blurb. If I use some, I usually edit it. I don’t link back to the other posts.

    I like to think my review and my approach stands on it’s own. And given that you were interested in the perfume book and another blogger considered recommending it for her book blog, and that Bridges of Paris is over 100 comments, my book tour blog reviews are clearly a waste of space.

    Um, maybe I should rant over at Chris’s? 😀

    I think his post was extremely unfair regarding book tours. And, we both know, people have read your book based on my blog post. Sure not a book tour. But a review is a review. Whether it’s part of a tour is irrelevant. It’s how the blogger treats the review.

    Book reviews are often boring. Authors need to think about that. I try and make mine interesting.

    1. Truth be told, I mainly reblogged this for the selfish reason that Chris had included a link to my guest series I wrote for him. I do understand what Chris is saying here, though, and I am guilty of rehashing the same old blah, blah, blah about myself most times. That’s why I do truly appreciate the approach you take when reviewing books and recommending authors, roughseas. Definitely never the “same old” over on your blog! (I also often wonder and worry whether the audience isn’t always the same group of writers for some of these organized blog tours. We’re oftentimes preaching to the converted or, at least, to readers who already know everything there is to know about us.)

  3. LOL My pleasure Susan – Thanks for re-blogging my tirade 😀

