Betty Jane Hegerat – 2015 Recipient of the WGA Golden Pen Award

jan-2014-2

Congratulations to my good friend, Betty Jane Hegerat, of Calgary in being named this year’s recipient of the Golden Pen Award from the Writers’ Guild of Alberta!

Here’s the official announcement: WRITERS’ GUILD OF ALBERTA GOLDEN PEN AWARD

Betty Jane is a fine writer and I had the pleasure of meeting her when I was the Alberta sales rep for her publisher. She has also provided me with some editing and mentoring over the years, wrote a blurb for the front cover of the print edition of my novel, and was the one who said, “Oh, Susan, I would pay you to look after promoting my books for me so I could just write …” – which she did, and that began my career as an author impresario!

I cannot think of anyone more deserving of this award than Betty Jane Hegerat. She is tenacious, hard-working, thoughtful, very well-read, and has more integrity than anyone I know. She has also given back to the writing community of Alberta through mentoring, acting as a writer-in-residence, teaching creative writing at UofC as well as at conferences and workshops, and by promoting her fellow authors, both established and not-yet-published.

So please join me in congratulating Betty Jane Hegerat!

Oh, and I also featured Betty Jane on Reading Recommendations!

7 responses

  1. Congratulations Betty! It’s always lovely to learn of a fellow Canadian author being recognized.

  2. Congratulations. You sound wonderful. Enjoy your day.
    http://www.writeradvice.com

  3. Congratulations, Betty! That is wonderful! Nice to meet you.

  4. C.o.n.g.r.a.t.u.l.a.t.i.o.n.s. Betty Jane Hegerat! 🙂

  5. Reblogged this on Reading Recommendations and commented:

    From my main blog, some great news about an Author (and friend!) who was previously promoted on Reading Recommendations!

  6. Congrats Betty Jane Hegerat, looking forwrad to read “The Boy”

