Rachel Small – Faultless Finish Editing

10404171_10153017417142784_4408865459180847385_n I’ve written about my editor, Rachel Small, before and told you all just how wonderful she is in this blog post I first published in July, 2011: I ♥ My Editor! then reblogged several times. Rachel and I have worked together on my writing for quite some time now and I’ve always been more than happy with our relationship. Rachel makes me look good! I have also referred a number of friends and colleagues to Rachel and they report back that she has been totally professional and fair in everything she does.

So consider this an extra shout-out for a woman who continues to do an ace job and is a good friend, to boot! As well as the usual editing services Rachel offers book authors and publishers, she also edits for columnists, businesses, and bloggers, and will edit your newsletters, too!

From Rachel: I provide blog-editing services to both up-and-coming and established bloggers. The first blog edit (up to 1000 words) is free, so you can get a sense of my style and I can get a sense of yours. I charge a flat fee for a set number of blogs per month. Please contact me if you’re interested in working together.

Now, you may think, “It’s only a blog post. What does it matter if there are a few typos or missed words, or if some punctuation is incorrectly placed? Why hire an editor to edit my blog posts?” Well, it’s true, you don’t require an editor for blogging – if you don’t care what you’re putting out there in the blogoshere. But you should care that anything you write and send out into the world be as perfect as possible. Not all of you have a friend such as I who sends hurried emails pointing out you’ve made an error in your copy. In fact, if you’re not already a personal friend and I find too many typos in your blog posts, I’ll be more likely to stop reading your blog altogether. Now, I’m only one reader (granted, a nit-picky one), but imagine this is the one blog post you’ve written that attracts the attention of an agent, or a publisher, or a customer who is interested in whatever it is you are selling … Wouldn’t you want the assurance that what they read is error-free – that everything you post is error-free? This, my friends, is the reason why we all – every writer out there – need editors!

If you’re interested in speaking with Rachel about her services, please check out her website for more information and a contact link. And tell her that Susan M. Toy sent you!

Ed Quote for Susan 02 Framed

15 responses

  1. […] you can check out this blog post I wrote about my own editor, Rachel Small. It’s in my best interest to keep her working as an editor, so I’m more than happy to share her […]

  2. I agree with you Susan. If I am not already a reader and I see a number of “typos” I am less likely to follow, regardless of the content, than I would if the post was error-free. I am prepared to tolerate a few errors in those I am already following and whose work I enjoy. I know how often the self-correcting computers “correct” in ways we don’t expect. However if I come across a glaring error that I think detracts from the post of someone with whom I have a good online relationship, I will DM the writer to let them know. I appreciate it also when others do the same for me. I have even been known to make corrections in comments on my blog to avoid the writer embarrassment (but not always). I think we need to support each other. You are very fortunate to have such a kind and caring editor who is a friend indeed.

    1. Thank you, Norah! It’s readers such as you who we value the most – readers who truly value writing and keep us on our toes producing the best writing possible. We should always strive towards high standards, no matter what we write, or edit.

  3. While authors love their reviews, I’ll confess it’s always nice for us back-room people to get a plaudit too. I got a surprise ‘thank you’ recently, but it’s not a straightforward edit one, so I’ll be writing about it as something different.

    Good for you to sing Rachel’s praises 🙂

  4. Always good to have a recommendation of a good editor, Sue. Thanks. Though, given the subject matter, you may want to check the typo in line one of para 4! Unless it is a test?!!

    1. Ha! Thank you TanGental. That just goes to show I was right – we all need editors, including editors. We both read through this, me a number of times, and neither of us caught that missing letter. Fixed now, and I hope it’s the only one. (I have had the problem with doubling letters while typing on this new computer, but not dropped letters.)

      1. Why does blog almost always become bog? Some perverse word deity somewhere playing with us? It’s a really useful post (as indeed is your whole blog…) 😉

      2. Thank you! And I take full responsibility for that typo, because I was the proofreader. Mea culpa.

      3. I checked, and it’s an accepted word!

      4. Accepted in which dictionary? 😉
        I’ve seen it, but it seems to be very much on the periphery. Put it this way, I would challenge it if it appeared in a book I was editing.

  5. Thank you for the glowing recommendation, Sue! You’re making me blush.

    1. You’re worth all of this praise, and more!

