The Bookmobile

As many of my readers know, it’s long been an ambition of mine to operate a mobile bookstore, so I love to read stories like this by Susan A. Royal about memories from her youth visiting the library’s bookmobile and how important reading was to her at that time. I was fortunate to grow up in Toronto only blocks away from a great library branch, but I enjoyed my visits there every bit as much as Susan did with her bookmobile.

Susan A. Royal

book mobile

I’ll never forget my childhood visits to the Bookmobile. An unassuming trailer dispatched every other week from the large central library in downtown San Antonio, Texas, it rested in the parking lot of the shopping center near our home for the entire day. During summer months, its presence beckoned me with as much anticipation as a picnic or day at the pool, because it represented adventure, escape and fantasy.

While my mother did her weekly grocery shopping, my sisters and I spent the morning at the bookmobile, deciding which exciting volumes we’d carry home. I remember floor to ceiling shelves lining either side of the trailer and open doors at each end. We checked out books at a miniscule table at the front where the attendant sat, you guessed it, reading a book.

In early summer, I stood before the shelves, the breeze from the open doors stirring the hair on the back…

View original post 209 more words

