Why I may not follow you on Twitter …

… or friend you on Facebook, or like your page, or connect with you on LinkedIn, or add you to my circles on Google+, or subscribe to your blog, or invite you to promote yourself and your book on my blog, Reading Recommendations:

I recently added the following comments to an excellent blog post written by Tricia Drammeh, Author Etiquette for Contacting Book Bloggers. (This is just an excerpt of what I had to say. Please go to the link to read the rest of my comments as well as Tricia’s very informative list of DOs and DON’Ts when approaching book bloggers.)

(In a profile) If I read, “Author of the breathtaking new novel XXX”, I will not follow. But if someone describes themselves as, “Writer, reader, promoter of fellow authors”, I’ll not only follow, but will probably offer them promotion on my blog.

By the way, for me “reader” is the key word in that description, because the other way authors can get my attention is by asking me about my books or the other books I publish. If anyone asks to read and review either of my books, invites me to be a guest blogger or be interviewed, I automatically reciprocate and offer to promote them on Reading Recommendations. It’s only fair. After all, just like them I have a couple of books I’ve written and published that need promotion!

I do not follow for a follow.

I do not “like” a page for a “like” of my page.

I do not “connect” on LinkedIn with someone I don’t already know in person.

Unless … you can prove that my following you is just as beneficial to me as it is to you.

As I said in the post I reblogged again yesterday, There are no Write-By-Number kits … I’m not in this game for the numbers I can accumulate – and your numbers certainly don’t impress me. I’m looking for a corps of Readers both for my writing and that of the Authors I promote.

(And it should go without saying I will follow and friend those Authors I do promote on my site – and I trust they will reciprocate.)

So, if you want to get my attention please tell me what’s in it for me, if I follow you, or promote you, or friend you. Once you do gain my attention, and reciprocate my follow with genuine engagement on social media, you’ll discover that I can be a very loyal advocate. And, if you have also written a great book … well, then, I could just become your champion for life! You never know how these connections on social media will turn out, but all you need do is ask a few of the Authors I’ve met there and worked with over the past couple of years in order to realize I am a very effective Author Impressario indeed!

Oh, and one more thing … When I do follow you, if you auto-respond with a message to buy-your-book-like-your-Facebook-page, I will auto-matically unfollow you. And if you try to sell me Tweets, I will block you.

Just so you know …

picard-200x200

31 responses

  1. I came across this just now (sorry I’m almost a month late to the party) and enjoyed it very much. I like your candor!

    1. Thank you! Just one too many “Buy Twitter Followers!” tweets put me over the edge … 😉

  2. […] connections. I recently read an excellent blog post by Susan Toy that discusses online connections and engagement. When it comes to Twitter and blog followers, some people mistake quantity for quality. Would you […]

  3. I seem to have missed this. I thought you were nice, friendly, helpful, chatty, courteous etc. who is this scary person?!!! Anyway, I’m on Twitter but don’t visit, use facebook for a (closed) review group, and am on Linked but rarely go there other. So I wouldn’t really expect you to follow me on any of those 😀

    1. Yes, you might not have seen this side of me, roughseas, since you’re not on any of these other sites. But I know that, if you were I’d be following you. 😉

      1. I am. I’m just not active. I might have got rid of my own name on Twitter, can’t remember, but the dog is still there 😀 but he doesn’t tweet/bark either.

      2. And lucky for you too that I already know you’re a reader. Not so sure about your dog, though.

  4. Great advice. I have similar practices. I was interested at your inclusion of the word ‘reader’ in your profile. It is something I hadn’t thought of.

    1. Thanks for reading and commenting, Norah. If you’re an author you must also be a reader, so telling everyone you read signals to us that you’re not just on Twitter to sell your own book, but to continue reading books by other authors. It just makes sense to me.

  5. I’m pretty easy-going when it comes to following and liking pages, but I have some of my own pet peeves, like most people do. I hate verification services on Twitter. Nothing is more annoying than being followed by someone nice who I’d like to follow back, only to discover that I’m unable to follow them unless I jump through hoops and verify that I’m a real person. It’s like asking a new real-life friend to complete a criminal background check before you’ll have a cup of coffee with them at the corner cafe. I’m sorry, but if you use True Twit or one of those other validation services, I’m going to have to pass you by. And I’m afraid lots of people feel the same way.

    Thanks for this honest post, Susan. And thanks for linking back to my blog.

    1. Thank you for your additional comment, Tricia!

  6. A very good straight forward article. Everyone knows where you stand. A.G.

  7. The honesty is appreciated! 😀

  8. Reblogged this on FutureImperfect and commented:
    I do the same and encourage authors, especially new authors to read this important post!

  9. I agree with you completely! And I give the same responses as well! Great job! Reblogging of course!

    1. Thank you for reading, commenting and reblogging!

  10. Pretty strong point of view but thruthfull.

    1. As you know, I’m not one to keep my words to myself, yazeeb!

  11. Nicely put, Susan. I’m still amazed at the number of people using social media as a means of taking and giving little in return. Your graphic at the end of your post is absolutely right. Engage! It doesn’t mean you have to like, retweet, repost or share everything you see, but showing interest and communicating with people, and giving a little love back, is what social media is all about. There is a reason social media has the word ‘social’ in its name.

    1. Absolutely, Dylan! Thanks for reading, commenting, reblogging and for always putting a lot of the “social” back into social media for me and for all your followers!

    1. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  12. Adi, the Happy Lifeaholic

    Reblogged this on The Happy Lifeaholic and commented:
    That is all.

    1. Thanks for reblogging, Adi!

  13. Adi, the Happy Lifeaholic

    Good one! Re-blogging this for my readers to learn as well 🙂

