Wally’s Hot Tasty Doubles on Bequia!

This is the first video in what I hope will be a series about the island of Bequia and its people, the services offered, and a glimpse at the beautiful scenery. I’m calling this a Slice of Bequia series. First up is Wally who sells Trinidadian Doubles, a fine street snack, from his cart in Port Elizabeth by the well in front of the bank, across the corner from Back Knights. (And those would be typical directions on this island!)

Here’s Wally serving up a couple of satisfied return customers:

IMG_1562

And here’s my video … Enjoy!

12 responses

  1. That looks absolutely yummy! I want to go there already!

  2. What a fabulous way of showcasing Bequia. And yum! Sounds tasty.

    1. Thanks, JP! I’m having fun coming up with new ideas on things to showcase.

  3. I tried but the video clip didn’t work in India. I don’t know what the problem was. I get a lot of slow connections. That was likely the problem.

    1. Sorry to hear that. I don’t know what the problem would be. I thought that all videos posted to YouTube were available anywhere in the world.

  4. Sorry to say the video didn’t work in Ontario, Canada. I don’t understand it, but wanted to do an FYI. I don’t ever want to go to bed, but must to energe for the net day.

    1. If you’re in the part of Ontario that received all that snow and cold a couple of days ago – you definitely have my sympathy. Best now not to bother getting out of bed again until the spring … I just managed to escape that winter weather in time!

      1. Indeed, you missed it. Lucky you. Hope the islands aren’t too hot.

      2. Never too hot when the Christmas winds are blowing, as they are now!

      3. 😀 😀 And they are blowing today.

  5. Love the photo and the vid too. Um, was that vegetarian because he said it was chick peas? And he called the breads, which were flat and like rotis, barras. Amazing language mix there!

    More Bequia vids required 🙂 looks wonderful.

    1. Yes, you are correct, roughseas! These are a mix of East Indian/West Indian, coming as they do from Trinidad where there has long been a large population of East Indians. Perfect little street snacks for eating easily out-of-hand. Glad you liked the video. Am thinking of more interesting places and people to film for your viewing pleasure.

