Goodreads for promoting books … my experience

My books have been listed on Goodreads since they were each published. Those books have been favourably rated and reviewed on the site by many members, both known and unknown to me. I have also been a member of the site and list books that I’m reading, have rated them all when I finish reading, and I’ve even written a few reviews. I’ve found several new-to-me authors listed on the site who I have then contacted and subsequently promoted on my Reading Recommendations blog. And I enter the Goodreads Giveaways all the time and have won a number of very good books over this past year or so.

My best experience with the site, though, has been in offering my own Goodreads Giveaways. My first contest was held in Sept., 2013, and since then I have run three more. A total number of 2998 Goodreads members in 26 countries have entered the four contests and I gave away 25 copies of my novel, Island in the Clouds. Some of those who won copies have rated and/or reviewed my book after they received and read it. But many, many more have listed it as a to-read and now have the book’s cover on their Goodreads page.

The way I see it, these are 3000 Readers who likely would never otherwise have heard of either me or my book. Whether they actually buy a copy is of no matter to me – I just want these Readers to know of the book’s existence and consider reading it, or tell their friends about it.

And guess what I’m going to do next … To celebrate the availability of my eBooks on Amazon in both Germany and India, I plan to run yet another Goodreads Giveaway for members in those two countries, and perhaps a few other countries, because there are many, many people outside of traditional English-speaking countries who can not only read in English but are also genuninely interested in reading books like mine. I hope to have that organized very soon.

The reason I’m so big on Goodreads as a means of promoting books is because it’s all about the READERS! Absolutely everything about the site is about books, authors and reading – so no distractions from other possible means of entertainment. None of the other social media sites are as specific to books – not Facebook, nor Twitter, nor anything else. The people who sign up for membership in Goodreads do so because they love to read – pure and simple! So I’m very happy to list my books there and offer promotions like the Goodreads Giveaways on a regular basis, because I’m promoting to the exact people I should be promoting to – THE READERS!!

A few authors have told me they don’t really “get” Goodreads and have never thought of using the site themselves, either for finding reading suggestions or for promoting their books. But I say you can’t afford to ignore this site, because it delivers millions of interested Readers to you every single day – and where else are you going to find so many people in one place who are interested in books and reading, I ask you??

So a big two-thumbs’-up from me to Goodreads as a means of promoting my own books and for providing me with a never-ending list of books to read and enjoy!

27 responses

  1. […] Any of my regular blog readers know I have been very happy with the 5 Goodreads Giveaways I’ve offered to site members from various countries. I wrote a blog post about my experience of promoting books on the site. […]

  2. I generally like Goodreads, though I’m sure I don’t use it enough. I always find it difficult juggling time and trying to decide where each precious minute is best spent. One thing I will say though, is that, although I have never had any negative experiences on Goodreads a lot of my author friends have and have complained about bullies and trolls doing the rounds on there, which I suppose has made me a little wary of using it too much. But it’s great to hear all the positive experiences you’ve had, so thank you! 🙂

    1. I guess I have been fortunate not running into any bullies or trolls at all. I’ve generally found, though, that the Goodreads Team is very responsive whenever I’ve written to them about other matters, so I like to believe if authors or readers who have had bad experiences with other members complaine to Goodreads something will be done.

      And I know what you mean about juggling time and was discussing this with another author today who said he just can’t keep up with all the promo he needs to be doing. It’s important to not try to do everything, but concentrate on the promotion that has really worked for you. Then maybe try something new every once in a while.

      As for finding time to keep up with reading – I gave up thinking long ago I would ever catch up, knowing it would take 5 lifetimes to read everything I’d like to read. So I read as much as I can, write as much as I can, and promote as much as I can. Really, in the end, that’s all we can do.

      1. Lol, totally! That’s a great mantra for life actually, do what you can and what works for you! 😀 x

  3. Reblogged this on Brainfluff and commented:
    I’ve heard mixed opinions about Goodreads – and as some of you are writers and many of you are readers – I thought you might like to hear Susan’s take. What do you think?

  4. Reblogged this on Confessions of a published author and commented:
    Very useful information!

    1. Thanks for your comment and for reblogging.

  5. I recently subscribed to Goodreads and can see what an advantage it can be to both author and reader.

    1. Thanks for commenting, Suzanne. If you do run a Goodreads Giveaway, please let me know how that works for you.

  6. Reblogged this on Seumas Gallacher and commented:
    The Goodreads experience of my good pal, , Author, Susan M. Toy… insightful reading ..:)

  7. I am on Goodreads but have not got much beyond setting up a profile – need to get involved more as it does look a quality site.

    1. Good to hear from you, Pete! And now I’ve friended you on Goodreads. Please do check out the site further and try to expand your use of it. I see you have a number of books already published. Congratulations!

  8. Goodreads is where I got the idea of setting up an Author Promotions Blog 😀

    1. Even more reason to like this Goodreads site!!

  9. Reblogged this on Reading Recommendations and commented:

    From my other blog …

  10. I need to head over to Goodreads and explore.
    You are pretty astute about marketing – the publishing world has changed, and smart authors are checking out all the new opportunities.

    1. Thanks, philosphermouse! You are correct about the publishing world changing … and I’m trying every method I can to get the word out about books!

  11. Thank you for this… I used to be quite active on GR, but have allowed it to fall by the wayside as I pursue my blog, fb, twitter etc, but you are absolutely right, GR is all about the reader, and as authors that’s where we should be, and other sites like it, as these are the people who love reading. Thanks for reminding me!

    1. Thanks for your comment, Ali!

  12. You have inspired me to do more on Goodreads, Susan, including a book giveaway. Thanks!

    1. Good news, Pamela! Please let me know when you have it set up and, since you are a previously featured Reading Recommendations Author, I will help you promote the Giveaway.

  13. Author Rebecca Heishman

    Reblogged this on Dancing With The MS MonSter and commented:
    Positive results of Goodreads for book promotion…

    1. Thanks for reblogging, Becky!

  14. Love Goodreads too. I try to have my ‘readers’ hat on there though. I was a reader first, before I started writing after all 🙂 great post!

    1. Thanks for your comment, Andy! And ALL writers should be readers first! The best way for a writer to learn how to write well is by reading – reading A LOT!!

