Chikungunya … finally, on its way out!

For me, at least … It’s been a long 15 weeks since I first contracted Chikungunya, 5 days after arriving back on Bequia. (I previously wrote about this here, here, here, here, here and here.) A VERY long 15 weeks!! I can honestly say though that this past week I haven’t been noticing the problems of numbness in my hands, tiredness during the day, or sleepless nights. In fact, some lingering pain in my right shoulder and bicep are all that remain. And even that goes unnoticed most of the day. So it seems the virus has run its course. I know that I cannot be infected again, but hope there isn’t a recurrence during the next year or so. I would not want to go through this again!

But, just when we thought people outside the tropics were safe, this article came to my attention. Apparently there is cause for concern that Chikungunya-bearing mosquitoes can breed in Canada. I hope this isn’t true or, if it is, that someone finds a way of stopping these mosquitoes from breeding. This is one nasty virus that needs to be eradicated!

“Bad biter: there’s a new nipper in town” article by Josh Pennell in The Telegram, St. John’s, Nfld.

At least the first snow has already fallen across much of Canada, so mosquitoes and Chikungunya won’t be a concern here again until the spring and summer. But just be extra careful then, people! As I said in my first blog post, You cannot begin to imagine …

14 responses

  1. […] … and it just keeps on ticking!, Finally!! Warnings and solid information about Chikungunya! and Chikungunya … finally, on its way out!) Just today I replied to a woman who wanted to know how much longer the virus will last. I’ve […]

  2. Reblogged this on healingfromny and commented:
    I am not alone… The other day I found this Susan’s blog. She has a few posts about Chikungunya. I wanted to share with you… Me and Susan exchanged a few comment posts and personal emails. She kindly assured me it will eventually pass.. It was so nice to exchange thoughts with someone understands the pain of this virus…
    She is a writer, and her book seems to come out soon. If you like to read, maybe you can follow her too. 🙂

    1. Thanks for reblogging, Heartny! I’m so happy that you found my blog posts and that my writing about Chikungunya has helped you.

  3. […] For me, at least … It's been a long 15 weeks since I first contracted Chikungunya, 5 days after arriving back on Bequia. (I previously wrote about this here, here, here, here, here and here.) A V…  […]

  4. Hello… I became ill from Chikungunya in August 2014… and still suffering from it. I have been looking for information on this disease for the whole time but this is my first time to read about the personal experience. Thank you… It is so nice to hear that it WILL oneday go away… Sometimes I get scared of the thoughts of not recovering from this disease fully… I am not a professional writer and English is not even my first language, but I started writing about my experience of Chikungunya on the wordpress. Is it ok to reblog your post to share? I hope you recover fully soon. I hope we recover fully soon.

    1. Thank you for commenting on my blog, Heartny! I am so glad you found these posts I’ve been writing and now know that you will eventually get over this virus. I think the worst aspects of Chikungunya for many of us have been in thinking we are suffering alone and not being able to gather any information about the virus and its treatment. That was frightening! But I have heard from a number of people since I’ve been blogging about this, from the US, Canada, and the UK who, like you, have stumbled across my blog and have received some solace in the fact that others have also suffered from this, but that we are all recovering. Just hang in there, Heartny! It’s sounds as though you are about a month behind me, so you should be noticing a vast improvement at any time now. Or, if you’re like I was, you’ll suddenly realize one day that you haven’t noticed any numbness or sleepless nights, and your appetite has suddenly returned.

      Please, by all means, reblog and share this post with others. And please do keep in touch and let us know how you are doing. I hope you, too, recover fully soon!

      1. Thank you so much!! actually I just noticed I am almost 2 month behind you… (sorry I said August, but actually it was September 2014.) I have been trying all kinds of natural healing methods, and it is improving, but still my sleeping hours are short… and I get tired very easily, as well as of course THE joint pain is still here… 😦 but now I will follow your improvement as my guide and light. xoxo

      2. I wish you all the best, Heartny! Just be assured that this will eventually pass.

  5. I’m glad you’re finally feeling better. What a nightmare!

    1. Thanks, Tricia! I do know of people who had this far worse than I did. Mine was apparently the “mild” version. But it is definitely on the wane now on Bequia.

  6. NO! Not the Rockies and Canada! My only hope to escape mosquitoes. At least the cold puts a damper on them. This virus sounds just dreadful.

    1. So far, I think the Rockies may be safe from mosquitoes … but then they’ve always had the problem of ticks carrying Lime Disease, so it seems as though we’re not safe anywhere!!

  7. So glad to know that you are beating this thing. I worry so that we live in the subtropics and I can’t get my daughter to vaccinate my grandchildren. Mosquitoes carry so much crap. Seriously, there is a cemetery in Key West that’s really old and not one person in it is over age 37. That’s how bad it was before medical science.

    1. Let’s hope the scientists are able to figure this one out before it gets the better of us. What worries me is how these viruses can mutate and the mosquitoes adapt. Always makes me think of the Borg on Star Trek – Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated!

