Chikungunya … and it just keeps on ticking!

I am now coming up to Week 12 of suffering from this damn mosquito-borne tropical virus, Chikungunya! While I feel infinitely better than I did in the beginning, I have to say that I know I am still not over this wretched virus. My joints still ache, my hands still get numb at night, I’m still tired all the time yet still experience insomnia most nights, and I am still very slow at everything I do – including thinking.

The good news is that I can pretty much “do” for myself in everything now ((like standing up from a chair or the bed, dressing, chopping vegetables) and, other than not being able to open tightly screwed-on jar lids or write legibly with a pen and paper, my daily life has pretty much returned to normal.

I did find I was limited last week when I travelled and had to walk or stand for longer periods than I’d been accustomed to these past few months. They do say that, when you think you’re over this virus, rest some more. So that’s what I’ve been trying to do this week, turning down going swimming with my sister and trying not to move too far away from the computer. (Which is a good thing as I have a lot of computer work to do right now!)

I’m hoping I have now reached the magic 3-month mark and that all remaining symptoms will now miraculously disappear. In fact, I’m counting on it as I have some more travelling to do, starting next week after Canadian Thanksgiving Weekend. Most people I’ve talked with or heard from/about Chikungunya seemed to recover quickly after that 3-month date. I know that others have also suffered from a relapse after those 3 months … I’m counting on me being part of that average group who completely recover at this point.

I can honestly say that I would not wish this virus on my worst enemies! And the only good thing about it is that we will never catch this again, our bodies now having built up an immunity to further infection.

Oh, there is one other good thing about this Chikungunya, and that’s that I’ve met a number of fellow-sufferers who now keep in contact with me, and all because I wrote about this virus in the first place on this blog. People from the UK, St. Martin, Grenada, upper New York State, Dominica, Texas, Newfoundland and St. Vincent who have suffered with this or who know of the virus being a threat in their area have commented on my blog and written to me privately, where we compare symptoms and progress in beating the virus. Thanks to all of you for your support and concern through this ordeal. Your well wishes really have meant a lot to me!

And now – forward to a healthier, virus-free future for all of us!

27 responses

  1. […] 5 days after arriving back on Bequia. (I previously wrote about this here, here, here, here, here and here.) A VERY long 15 weeks!! I can honestly say though that this past week I haven’t […]

  2. Amy Fenton-Shine

    Hi Susan,
    Sounds pretty much exactly what I continue to deal with! Yesterday I felt 80% better???today I’m back to maybe 60% better….Hoping that I & you & everyone else suffering from this terrible virus will recover completely upon the 3 month mark(if not sooner).
    I’m coming upon my 10th week!
    Thank you for being such a great source if support and information…
    Amy

    1. Thanks for keeping in touch, Amy! I hope you as well continue to improve. And I’m glad to hear my blog posts are helping.

  3. […] I also received a comment on the post I published yesterday, Chikungunya … and it just keeps on ticking!, from another fellow-sufferer living in the Dominican Republic. (And if you are just discovering […]

  4. I live and work in the Dominican Republic, I am one who has the “complications” of Chikungunya and I am at week 26! Only about 4 or 5% get this serious complication and it is brutal. It will strike those with weakened immune systems of other underlying complications. Until I found the right combination of drugs, I was in constant agony, could not close my hands, tendons like ropes, feet huge – no shoes for almost 5 months, knees swelling at times etc etc. Getting up in the night to go to the bathroom was excruciating. Within 5 days of a combination of medication, what a difference. BUT it is only for those who after 3 months show NO improvement and actual worsening.

    I hope you are over the hump so to speak!!!!

    1. Thanks, so much for reading and commenting on my blog, Darlene! I am so sorry to hear of your suffering with this – much worse than what I’ve experienced, but very similar to others I’ve spoken with about it. I do hope you continue to improve. Please keep in touch and let us know how you are doing.

  5. […] I am now coming up to Week 12 of suffering from this damn mosquito-borne tropical virus, Chikungunya! While I feel infinitely better than I did in the beginning, I have to say that I know I am stil…  […]

  6. It sounds like a sci-fi baddie and clearly feels like one. Hope you are better soon.

  7. Sorry to hear it is still causing you grief but glad the three month point is a promising date. hmmm…maybe higher elevation will help (?)

    1. Thank you, Hazel! And … perhaps you are correct. Maybe I should be looking at flights out to Calgary and points west!

  8. Here’s hoping you are better after the three month date.

    1. Thanks, Deb! (Here’s one problem we never anticipated for Canadian writers living abroad …)

      1. Quite right. When in India we used nets against dengue and malaria, but hadn’t heard of Chikungunya!

      2. And, also on the plus side, this experience provides me with more material for the next Bequia novel 😉

  9. So sorry to hear this. But glad you are on the mend. let’s hope you don’t relapse. This thing sounds nasty!

    1. Thanks, sknicholls! This has also slowed down my reading speed, so I have not yet managed to get through all the books I should have had read by now.

      1. Well, I have injured my lower back, which has me down in bed doing nothing but reading. As long as I lie still I’m fine.

      2. Oh, no! Get bettter soon!

  10. I am so sorry to hear about your illness due to this virus. Thank you for posting. I had never heard about this before. You have an amazing spirit and it shines through your work and your posts. I know it has helped you heal. Joan M. Baril

    1. Thanks for your kind words, Joan!

  11. WOW I missed your first post about this, so didn’t know Susan – it sounds a lot like shingles from the lack of energy aspect – Fingers and toes crossed you’re on the rapid mend phase 🙂

    1. Thanks, Ape! It’s been an ordeal and I will be glad to see the last of it. Lucky that it did not slow down my computer typing as I was able to carry on posting and promoting as usual!

  12. Maryclare Rattey

    I am glad to hear that you are getting better, you have really been through the wars!

    1. Thanks, Maryclare! I fortunately did not suffer as much as some others I know. We will all be happy to see the last of it.

  13. Author Rebecca Heishman

    Reblogged this on Dancing With The MS MonSter and commented:
    More about that dangerous virus…..

    1. Thanks for reblogging, Becky!

