Chad Ingram – a listening recommendation

Welcome to Listening Recommendations , the second in a series of recommendations of musicians and musical groups I enjoy! Just like my other Author promotion blog, Reading Recommendations, I introduce blog readers to interesting and exciting Indie Musicians who are recording and performing right now, anywhere in the world!

Chad picture 3 Chad Ingram

What type of music do you perform?
I don’t really have a latest release. I’ve recorded some demos of my own music here and there and would like to record a full-length album of my own material at some point, when time allows. I’d classify my own music as some kind of eclectic rock. It’s rock-based, at least. I have a YouTube channel where I post quick iPhone videos of myself performing. A few with my percussive accomplice Tim Tofflemire. It’s mostly cover songs on there. A few originals.

Quick description of the songs you perform and your musical influences.
I’m influenced by too many musicians to name, from a wide swath of genres and timeframes.

Certainly the music of my parents – the pop and rock of the 1950s through the 1970s – has had a major impact on me. Buddy Holly, Elvis, The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, The Band, Bowie, Dylan, Van Morrison, all the Motown artists. They made up the soundtrack of my childhood.

The music of grandparents was important too, this being mostly classic country – Hank Williams, Buck Owens, Johnny Cash, etc. – on the paternal side, and big band – Glenn Miller, Benny Goodman, Count Basie, etc. – on the maternal side.

Grunge rock was big in my youth, with bands like Nirvana, Sound Garden, Pearl Jam, Silverchair and Oasis providing the musical backdrop to elementary school. During high school I was obsessed with the Dave Matthews Band and Radiohead and in post-secondary years my focus turned more to funk, blues and jazz, as well as jam bands such as Phish and Bela Fleck and the Flecktones.

When performing cover tunes, I’ll often funk-ify them a little bit. I think the key to performing covers is not to try to recreate the originals, but to make them your own as much as possible. Play the song as it feels natural to you. Sing in your own voice.

Chad picture 1

Your brief bio:
My father and his father both played guitar and my grandmother was a conservatory-trained pianist, so music was always around. I started playing guitar when I was 10. My grandparents would take me to the country music open mic sessions at the Moose Lodge in Lindsay on Sunday afternoons. That’s where I first got on stage.

I played bass guitar in concert and jazz bands in high school and also in an alt rock band – Also Known As – with some friends. I started writing songs during that period, at 17 or so. I also played bass in a band with some friends at university in Ottawa.

While I still play bass occasionally, it’s mostly guitar – and mostly acoustic guitar, at that – these days. I have a rotating roster of musical friends who join me for shows, mostly in Haliburton County, where I live and work as a journalist.

Where may people hear you perform?
The Dominion Hotel in Minden, Ontario
Canoe FM Concert Hall on Oct. 18th (then archived)
The Highlanders Bar in Haliburton, Ontario
Chad’s YouTube page where he uploads his recordings

What are you working on now?
Nothing in particular. I’m playing a live show at the Canoe FM concert hall in Haliburton on Oct.18. Would like to do some recording during the winter.

Please recommend the name of a musician or band whose work you’ve enjoyed hearing lately. Right now I’m listening to a lot of alt-j(∆), an experimental rock band from Britain, Shovels and Rope, a gritty, husband-and-wife country duo from South Carolina and a Canadian band called Half Moon Run.

Chad picture 2

