Editors – God’s Gift to Every Writer.

A very good assessment of the author/editor relationship, to which I will add that this is truly a “relationship” and should never be a battle between the two parties. A relationship that should ultimately produce the best book possible. Period!

NOIRE.

Hello and Welcome Friends and New Visitors,

.

.

     Recently, I heard of an author who put their editor through a word mill with a flurry of emails and argumentative assaults, grinding them into tiny pieces, nearly to the point that the editor began to wonder why they took on this particular author in the first place. It made me think through the delicate relationship between an editor and writer, and the unheralded art of editing. The colossal ego that communicates in such a controlling fashion may put so much pressure on their words they dull the fine point of their pen. What does that mean? I believe they fail to create that thin line of clarity, of defining well-written words from a sharp tip that makes each word they write so clear they each stand out and sing.

Few authors can write something so perfect that there are…

View original post 1,194 more words

2 responses

  1. I read her post and found it interesting. The relationship is paramount, and I hope I achieve that. But what is also key is an understanding of what is required and what will be done. Both sides need to sign up to that.

    I tell my authors what I will do and what I expect from them. In return, they can tell me what they want. Part of the problem is that many authors don’t know what is needed. Or, tbh, what is cost effective. It is pointless asking for a full dev edit for a poorly written book. It’s wasting everyone’s time.

    Interestingly, and I know I’m generalising, the poor writers are the ones who brush off suggestions of how to improve. The better ones always accept suggestions.

    1. Thanks for commenting on this, roughseainthemed! I believe you are absolutely correct in your final paragraph (throughout, but in this paragraph in particular). The best classes I studied as an author were all in learning how to edit – not because they taught me how to edit my own writing, but that I learned how to work with editors.

