Papaya Leaf Juice … right under our noses!

The other day, I posted Chikungunya – you cannot begin to imagine … to explain what it is we’ve all been going through while suffering from this mosquito-borne disease with the funny name. I had been led to believe there is no cure for the virus, and while that still may be true, we’ve heard from several people now that they have been drinking juice squeezed from papaya leaves – a fruit tree that grows quickly and is predominant throughout the tropics. This juice helps to speed up the healing process and alleviate some of the more nasty symptoms. So Dennis decided to give it a whirl.

We read all about it online at this link.

I’ve now consumed two doses of this foul-tasting liquid (yesterday and this morning), and according to the others who have taken it, I should be noticing a difference within the next day or two. Unfortunately, we don’t have a juicer and the blender died on us, so Dennis had to “juice” the leaf using the food processor. It was a long slog, but it finally worked and I was able to drink at least an ounce of juice each time.

Here’s the photo proof:

IMG_1375IMG_1376

IMG_1377IMG_1378

IMG_1380IMG_1381

So here’s hoping all that work to extract such a little, tiny amount of juice was worth it. I’m cautiously optimistic at the moment that I’m beginning to feel better …

14 responses

  1. […] contracted Chikungunya, 5 days after arriving back on Bequia. (I previously wrote about this here, here, here, here, here and here.) A VERY long 15 weeks!! I can honestly say though that this past week I […]

  2. […] in reading the 4 previous posts I published: Chikungunya – you cannot begin to imagine …, Papaya Leaf Juice … right under our noses!, Blame it on the Chikungunya …, Stop hiding the problem of […]

  3. […] fellow-sufferer of the Chikungunya virus posted a comment on this blog yesterday on one of the three posts I had written previously. She’s an American who had picked up the virus while on […]

  4. […] 6 weeks since I contracted Chikungunya, the mosquito-borne tropical virus I wrote about here and here. I began taking the papaya leaf juice again last week and have been drinking it for four days, […]

  5. I sure hope this works for you Susan.

  6. I sure hope it works. That looks nasty.

  7. Been there, done that. I didn’t have success, although others do swear by it. Sure do hope that it works for you! : )

    1. Thanks, Gwen! Sorry it didn’t help you at all. I’m still hoping … and drinking coconut water, too!

  8. So sorry to hear how ill you have been. I hope the papaya works for you as it has for others.

  9. P is for papaya and placebo! I sure hope it works for you…

    1. Hey! Even if the juice only tricks my brain into thinking I’m better, I’m all for that!

