Your mother should know…

Another blog post from the past for #MondayBlogs, this time from Nov. 17, 2011.

Books: Publishing, Reading, Writing

My mother raised me to be an honest person. Like a good writer, she did this by showing me through example rather than telling me how I should act. I remember accompanying her to the grocery store along Queen St. and watching in amazement while she gave back an overpayment of change the clerk had handed to her. It wasn’t much money, but enough that the clerk was taken aback. I guess no other customer had been so honest as to to call out a mistake made in their favour. That lesson really stuck with me, mainly because it happened more than once.

Both my parents were honest people. They were never rich, but Dad earned a decent living, enough to look after our family. We were lucky, I guess, that Grandma had become the financier she did when she first came to Canada from Belgium, building up a small…

View original post 1,089 more words

2 responses

  1. Oh wow, this post really hit home today. I’m like you. I give other people the benefit of the doubt and (foolishly) assume everyone is honest and kind-hearted. I still think most people are, but maybe that’s me being naive. I’ve been taken advantage of. I’ve encountered people who think they are entitled to take without giving. Business people who violate the terms of their own contract repeatedly, but still expect the “little guy” to stick to their terms of the agreement. People who twist the law to suit themselves. I’m far less trusting than I used to be, and it’s sad. For a while, I let bitterness take over, but no more. I just try to hope for the best in people, but prepare for the worst.

    Thanks for re-blogging this!

    1. And thanks for commenting, Tricia! It’s good to know someone understands what I’m saying here.

