Great Summer Reads? Just Ask Judy

My long-time friend and, in my opinion, the greatest bookseller in the world, Judy Gardner, is featured in a blog by Calgary author, Bill Corbett (who I have also known for a long time)! I first met Judy when I was managing Sandpiper Books in Calgary during the late 80s. She was MY customer then – but did more selling to me than I seemed to do to her … Judy is definitely the best! No doubt about it.

Marathon Mouth

Just ask Judy Gardner for great, unusual summer reads. She's sold more than 300 customers on this fascinating medical book. Just ask Judy Gardner for great, unusual summer reads. She’s sold more than 300 customers on this fascinating medical book

Bricks-and-mortar bookstores will never disappear. Why? Because of people like Judy Gardner.

Now, many experts will tell you traditional bookstores are threatened by online giants like Amazon. The same folks happily predict the imminent demise of the printed book, with an ever-increasing number of people downloading electronic books to their tablets and e-readers.

Why, what could be more perfect than all your summer reading, at the cottage or on the road, stored on a device half the size of a paperback novel?

But online ordering and downloading misses a crucial ingredient: the personal relationship with a skilled bookseller, or should I say book selector. In this case, Judy.

Whenever I go into the Indigo Books store in Calgary’s West Hills shopping centre, I immediately go searching not for books but…

View original post 445 more words

