Hanging out in an anthology with some of Canada’s finest authors of books for young people

Another book from the backlist of Betty Jane Hegerat, this time an anthology to which she contributed a piece.

Betty Jane Hegerat

Dark Times, edited by Ann Walsh

The anthology Dark Times was published in 2005 by Ronsdale Press: http://ronsdalepress.com/books/dark-times/

I was working on Running Toward Home, and struggling mightily with sustaining the perspective of a teenaged boy throughout a book length story. When I saw the call for submissions for an anthology for young people dealing with loss and grief, one of my children had recently dealt with a dark and difficult experience. The writing of “Kick”, my contribution to Dark Times, was in part a way of trying to make sense of that experience, and an exercise in getting inside the skin of a fourteen-year-old boy.

Why should you read this book, and then pass it along to young people in your life?

1. We assume, I think, that books for pre-teens and teenagers need action, adventure, fantasy, to hold their attention. I know from reading to my children from the time they were old enough…

View original post 358 more words

