Identifying a good editor is about chair placement

I’m reblogging this post by Robert Chazz Chute because it’s a great explanation of what makes a good editor – and it also describes my editor to a tee. So I’d like to dedicate this reblog to my editor, Rachel Small!

C h a z z W r i t e s . c o m

I’ve worked with several editors over the years. Mostly, the experience has been good. If you work with enough people though, you get a horror story. The bad editors have one thing in common: they think it’s about them and they bleed self-importance. (Beware: at the editing stage, it’s not generally about the author, either. It’s about the reader.)

Bad editors are: 

1. Belittling, condescending and even angry.

Let’s face it, for some people, editing is a power thing. They love to tell people what to do and where they are wrong because it feels great to be right. Editors like this don’t have a lot of authors who return to the whipping room for another go, however. Life’s too short. If you’re looking for a fight, there are better ways to use that energy.

One person tried to be abusive with me once and their lure was a very low fee. “Wow!…

View original post 495 more words

2 responses

  1. Aw shucks! Thanks Sue 🙂 That made my day!

    1. You are worth your weight in gold, as far as I am concerned!

