When Is A Book Like A Building?

Tim Baker with some thought on how he writes a novel. Very interesting to compare the ways of approach and to also consider how we each write – and ‘why” we write.

blindoggbooks

In the writing world there is an ongoing debate over HOW a book should be written. It separates writers into two distinct camps…

Planners – those who outline their entire book, down to the smallest detail, before they start writing

Pantsers – those who pretty much make it up as they go along (as in “flying by the seat of their pants”)

plan v pants

If I had to pick which category I fall into – I would call myself a plantser… I have a bit of a plan, and I try to follow it, but sometimes I go a little off course.

Plantser

I have no formal training in writing, unless you count a high school journalism class and a semester of creative writing in college, so when I started writing my first novel, Living the Dream, I did it the way that felt natural to me.

Living the DreamI had no idea…

View original post 625 more words

