Newbie Author Book Marketing Mistakes

This is a great blog post with a message that needs to be repeated again, and again, and again, it seems. There are too many authors out there who believe they are the exception to the rule, who just carry on with the kind of behaviour outlined in this post, thinking they’re doing everyone a big favour by writing and promoting only themselves. WRONG!! These rules pertain to E-V-E-R-Y-O-N-E! Please read and take heed … Thank you!

chrismcmullen

Marketing Mistakes

Introduction

When you first publish, it’s natural to make marketing mistakes. It’s also natural for toddlers to prefer to poop where they are instead of wasting valuable play time by going to the potty. Either way, as you get older, it pays to overcome these natural tendencies:

  • You only get one chance to make a good first impression, and the first impression is often a lasting one. Try not to make yours with your tongue sticking out.
  • Some of your online activity leaves a permanent record; not all of your mistakes can be undone. If only life came with an Undo button… “I’m so sorry!” doesn’t always work.
  • An important part of marketing is branding a professional image of yourself. Mistakes aren’t easy to overcome. Think before you act. And do a little research.

(1) Me Me Me Me Me Me Me

Try this. (Not really.) Walk around the block…

View original post 1,680 more words

4 responses

  1. This was an excellent post with a lot of common sense advice about marketing. As a new Indie author, I would prefer to avoid some of the biggest mistakes when I decide to try to market my books. I think the best take-home message that I got from this is to find your target audience. No sense becoming a nuisance (like a mosquito) by going on and on about your books to the wrong audience. I will keep this post handy for future reference.

    1. Happy to hear this helped you, Sharon!

  2. Great advice. You may enjoy my experience I explained in my blog post King Solomon and a Jungle Made My Dream Come True for an added perspective to your article.

    http://rudymartinka.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/how-king-solomon-and-a-jungle-made-my-dream-come-true-2/

    Regards and good will blogging.

    1. Thanks for reading and commenting, scatterwisdom!

