Infinite patience and a good sense of humour

A blog post from the vaults (Feb. 14, 2013) that still holds true today … posted today for #MondayBlogs

Books: Publishing, Reading, Writing

Dennis has always said that if you want to build a house and live on Bequia – successfully – what you really require are infinite patience and a good sense of humour. And we’ve discovered over these past 20 years that he’s correct.

Since ePublishing and printing my own novel, and after many years spent working with authors and publishers on promoting and selling their books, I’ve come to the realization that these are precisely the same qualities we all need in order to be able to write and publish – successfully. Especially lots of that first bit, I find, goes a long way towards achieving some of the ultra-success part in our careers.

I can’t count the number of writers who have deep-sixed all their writing and publishing efforts by being too impatient with the entire process. The world does not care that you have a personal deadline to…

View original post 482 more words

3 responses

  1. Since I move at the speed of glaciers, maybe publishing is a better bet than I think. I am on the verge of publishing books 3 and 4 of my inappropriately named K’Barthan Trilogy. I sell literally ones and twos of my books each month and literally tens of people follow my blog (don’t be fooled by that big number, all bar a handful are twitter followers who probably never even notice my posts). I’ve been working on this for 5 years, although it took me 13 years to write the first book – and trying to ‘build up a platform’ since about 2010.

    In short, what I’m trying to say, in a very long winded and roundabout way, is that your post made me feel better about the incredibly slow (or is that no) burn nature of my attempts to earn… well… anything actually, as a writer.

    Cheers

    MTM

    1. Thanks for commenting, and I’m glad what I posted resonated with you! It seems to me that you are going about writing in the best way possible.

      1. Oh bless you! What a lovely thing to say. Thank you so much. I hope so.

        cheers

        MTM

