Blog posts, articles, videos, and information of note … The Weekly Roundup

Alberta (Calgary) author Marcello Di Cintio
In lieu of an acceptance speech

Calgary editor and author Carrie Mumford
How Much Does Editing Cost?

Alberta (Edmonton) author Thomas Wharton
Filling Plotholes

For Writers
From Rachel Gardner: 5 Things Writers Should Know Right Now
From Nathan Bransford: Dialogue Only Has To Be True to the World of Your Novel
From GalleyCat: Free Books Recommended By Ernest Hemingway Himself
From GalleyCat: Joss Whedon: “What you cut out becomes part of the story you tell”
From Writer Unboxed: What to Write in the “Bio” Section of Your Query Letter by Chuck Sambuchino

On Publishing
From The Scholarly Kitchen: The Personality of a Publisher by Joseph Esposito
From The Shatzkin Files: Two thoughts: what was one book business may divide by format and backlist may be the neglected marketing opportunity (I’ve been harping on forever about the importance of backlist!!)

On Conferences and Conventions
I attended only one BEA (although it was still called ABA at the time) in 1994 in Los Angeles and Stephen King walked past me in the convention hallway. That was cool! But at the time, I was much more excited to speak with Nick Bantock and Rick Steves, because I was their sales rep!
From terribleminds: Ten Things I Learned At BEA 2013

From Seth Godin’s Blog
On teaching people a lesson

On Promotion
From Jeff Bullas: 50 Ways to Promote and Market your Blog Posts
From GalleyCat: Penguin Book Truck To Travel Country (This is what I wanted to do in Calgary during the summer months – but promoting Alberta Authors!!!)

On Reading
From RealSimple: Your Ultimate Summer Reading List

Thanks to Peggy Ann’s Blog for posting The Curious Evolution of the Typewriter, in Pictures link on her weekly Monday’s Muddle!

And a few videos of Bequia shot by a reader of Island in the Clouds who made my day by posting wonderful comments about my novel on my blog. (Scroll down to the comments at bottom of page.)
Thank you, Jay!!
Bequia Island – video taken on a beautiful morning (that’s the Frangipani Hotel, the Whaleboner next to it, and the harbour …)
“Crazy” boat ride from Bequia to Canuoun – Hang on to your hat!
Flight on 8 seat plane – Canuoun to St. Vincent

6 responses

  1. Susan, I would like to thank you for including my video clips from St. Vincent & the Grenadines (Bequia and Canouan islands) in your blog. Hopefully, blog’s readers will find them interesting and, possibly, amusing. That’s one of the few benefits of videos shot by an amateur like myself (and no editing :-). Thank you!

    1. Thanks for connecting with me in the first place, Jay! I love that I now have some visuals to offer for readers who have never been to Bequia. These give everyone a better sense of the place and show that I’m not just making it all up!

  2. Thanks for including my post, Sue!

    1. You are most welcome! Thanks for writing such an informative post, Carrie!

  3. Do you know if the Penguin Book Truck will be coming to Canada? It’s Cool, btw!

    1. I think it’s only covering the US. They just unveiled it this past weekend. If it were coming to Canada, I would volunteer to drive it!!

