From the archives – You say you want to save print books? – Dec. 22, 2009

Following is a post I originally published to this blog in 2009. The subject matter is still relevant.

Reading this post from Booksquare got me thinking – everyone out there who has ever said, “I could never read an e-book on a computer or a reading device,” or “I will never give up print books, because I love the feel of the pages and holding the book while I read,” should put their money where their mouths are and buy new books – lots of them, and insist that all their friends buy new books, too. And buy those books at full price, while they’re at it, and from an independent bookstore. Don’t buy used, because the author doesn’t gain from sales of used books. The only way to keep publishers publishing print books, and paying royalties to the authors who write them, is if those print books actually sell.

But the real point is that e-books, and all the other new technilogical formats, some of which you probably haven’t heard about yet – how about a vook? – are increasing in popularity, and are definitely here to stay. The Next Gen is computer savvy, and much more inclined to receive and read online than my boomer cohorts ever will be. We’ve really only seen the tip of possibilities of where e-publishing is headed.

So my point of this post is to suggest that if you truly love print books, and can’t imagine reading a book in any other format, then you can help to save those print books by buying them. Support your local authors, attend their readings, browse in independent bookstores and ask their (usually) well-informed staff for suggestions and help with reading selections. Recommend good authors you discover to your friends and encourage those friends to buy their own new copies of books. And buy books for everyone on your gift list.

That’s the best way I know of saving print books.

2 responses

  1. This post was way ahead of the game, of course. December. 2009 was barely the beginning of the trend that seems to keep growing. The advice is solid, too. Buy books if you want to save print books, but…watch for a future that might look a bit different.

    1. Thanks, Micheal! I’ve always tended to march to my own beat and ahead of the band. Was surprised just how far out ahead I had been in 2009 when I began reading through old blog posts.

