Choosing between Self and Traditional Publishing

17281025

I’m writing this review for the benefit of all my friends and colleagues who write or who teach writing, lead writing workshops, or participate in writing conferences. I’ve read the recently released eBook, How Do I Decide? Self-Publishing vs. Traditional Publishing by Rachelle Gardner, and I highly recommend it – even if you have already published a book in one way or the other there is information in this book that will be of interest to you.

Rachelle Gardner, a successful literary agent in the US, answers many questions that beginning writers tend to ask once they start to pursue publication for their writing, and those questions that even seasoned professionals may be asking during these changing times in the publishing business. By taking the reader through the processes involved in both self-and-traditional-publishing and allowing the reader to assess for themselves which is the most suitable way forward, Gardner takes away the guesswork or any pressure writers may feel, so that anyone who has written a book can make a reasoned, intelligent decision.

What I particularly appreciate about the advice offered is that an overview of publishing, including terms used, is covered right up front–as many of you know, I’m the one who is always going on about the need for all writers and authors to learn something about publishing in order to become more effective partners in the business of publishing their books. Plus, Gardner stresses the necessity of patience in order to publish successfully, no matter which way you decide to go. Just like love, you can’t hurry publishing. If you do, you risk your efforts only resulting in the production of a bad book. Take your time. Make it the best book you can possibly produce. (That’s me talking now, adding my own further advice. The biggest mistakes I’ve seen made by authors are usually the result of a lack of patience.)

Here’s a link to Rachelle’s blog, with more information on this eBook.

Since I know many of you who teach writing or who mentor writers are often asked what students should do, whether they should self-publish or seek traditional publication, I recommend you suggest they read this eBook. HIGHLY recommend! Plus, the great news is that this is the first eBook in The Field Guide for Authors Series Rachelle Gardner will be releasing over the next few months. If this first book is any indication, I believe we have a winning series that will benefit all writers everywhere, no matter what stage they are at in their careers.

3 responses

  1. I’ve already identified Rachelle G. as a great resource as I set out on my journey from a writer who merely ‘scribbles’ to one who can share that writing, but hearing that even experienced authors value her advice gives me added confidence about the message she delivers.Thanks for sharing Susan.
    ~Minkee

  2. Thanks for sharing this, Sue! Looks like a very useful book.

  3. Personally, I think the answer must be not to choose one or the other, but to choose both!

