WHO in the World is Reading Island in the Clouds???

About six months ago when I released the eBook version of my novel, Island in the Clouds, I began a promotion campaign called Island in the Clouds – Where in the World??? that proved to be very successful – as well as a lot of fun! I received photos of my eBook that showed it being read on eReaders from as close as my Bequia next-door neighbour’s verandah to the Arctic Circle, from Dominica, Kelowna, Toronto, and on iPhones, iPads, Kindle and Kobo eReaders, as well as on desktop computers – even one that was being read by a horse!

So when the print edition of the book was released on June 21st and I began mailing out all the pre-ordered copies to friends – well, literally, around the world – I thought it would be fun to begin a new campaign on my blog, just to show everyone how far-flung the reading of this novel has become. So I asked all those who had pre-ordered the book to send a picture of it being read in whatever location it has now landed.

I thought it fitting that, just as with the Where in the World??? campaign, we begin with a picture from where it all began – where I wrote most of this novel, and of the hammock, verandah and view that is in the book cover photo. And with the resident property manager who provided me with the inspiration for the main character reading the book in that very hammock.

Say, wait a minute! This guy Geoff seems to be an awful lot like me. He’s even having some of the same adventures I’ve had… I want a cut of the profits!

No worries there, as we all know that authors seldom, if ever, actually make any money from the books they publish.

So… here’s what I would like everyone else to do – If you have received a copy of my book and are reading it, please send me a picture and I will post it to my blog over the coming weeks. If you don’t want to show your face, please either disguise yourself or take a picture of the book in an identifiable place – like at the Calgary Stampede, the London Olympics, or the Eiffel Tower. The more unusual the place, the better! I challenge you to be imaginative. And, if you have enjoyed the book, please consider writing a short review or making some comments that I may also post here.

Thanks for playing along!

If you would like to buy a copy of the book but have not been able to find one anywhere near where you live, please send me an email.

