ABC Friday Reads – Susan M. Toy

I launched the print edition of my novel, Island in the Clouds, on June 21st! A good-sized crowd of friends, colleagues, and some people who saw the ads and came out of curiosity, filled the room in Memorial Park Library. My editor, Rachel Small, was there, and the book’s designer, Jenny Ryan, was able to attend via Skype, listening in from Ottawa and tweeting about the event. (Unfortunately, our experiment with Skyping-in an audience didn’t work as well as I’d hoped, but I expect we can iron out the glitches for next time.) We had other authors in attendance, as well as booksellers, publishers, sales reps, and even an agent! Donna Gillmor, retired bookseller and sales rep, introduced me and Tom Phillips sang a couple of songs. Everyone really enjoyed the Jelly Modern Doughnuts we served.

Thanks to Marje Wing and Memorial Park Library for hosting the event, and to Pages on Kensington for selling books.

For more information about the book and where to order a copy, click here.

6 responses

  1. Look at you!!!

  2. Such a great night – I couldn’t be happier for you Sue!

    1. Thanks, Rach! But a special thanks for the part you played in editing the book. You made the story and writing that much better!

  3. Congratulations Sue and many happy returns! I am really thrilled for you. I did think of you and was with you in spirit yesterday, for sure!

    1. Thanks, Gwen! Your blurb is in the book, so you were definitely there!

