The Art of Non-Conformity – A Definite Two-Thumbs-Up!

Last week, I posted to my blog that I had begun reading The Art of Non-Conformity by Chris Guillebeau and was anticipating it would be a good book for me. Well, this book and its author definitely didn’t disappoint! The only way it could have been better was if I’d read the book when I was first starting out rather than so late in my career and life. However, thirty-five years ago I may not have been as receptive to the ideas and manifesto for life that this book sets out. I certainly appreciate it now, though, and will be adding it to my “recommended reading” list for the fledgling writers and authors I work with, because I believe all writers are non-conformist by nature – or we should be!

Not only was this book life-affirming for me, Guillebeau also offered suggestions as to how to take this non-conformity thing to a whole new level. I learned a great deal from the book and have begun putting some of what he suggests into action in my own life – that is, the few things I hadn’t already been doing on my own, never realizing I was actually “Setting My Own Rules” and “Living the Life I Wanted” all these years, in spite of the many naysayers I’d met along the way. As for “Changing the World,” I am now armed with a few new ideas to help me in that respect. Step One: Through my author impresario business, Alberta Books Canada, I plan to change the world One Alberta Author and Book At A Time! – and starting with my own… Island in the Clouds!

(I have already been developing my very own “small army” without having realized that’s what I was doing…)

The great news is that Chris continues to write and publish books! He maintains a blog and I just signed up to receive email updates from him. I put a hold at the Calgary Public Library on his latest book, The $100 Startup: Reinvent the Way You Make a Living, Do What You Love, and Create a New Future.

But then – oh joy of joys! – I received an email from Carrie Mumford informing me that Chris is coming to Calgary!!

“Join us on June 20th at 7:00 pm, we’ll be at Chapters/Indigo!
66 Crowfoot Terrace N.W. in Calgary, AB”

So I will not only buy every book the store has that Chris has written, but I will have a chance to meet him and get those books signed, as well! What a fortuitous opportunity for me, having just discovered this author!

So, I urge all you non-conformists, or those of you who have ever considered dabbling in non-conformity, to at least read this one book, The Art of Non-Conformity, and see if it changes your life, or at least affirms the way you think and live, the way it has done for me.

And, if you live in Calgary, come out and meet Chris on Wednesday evening. I’ll be there!

