The Art of Non-Conformity by Chris Guilleneau

I can’t remember where I first heard about this book, but I put a hold on it at the library and picked up the copy yesterday, began reading it today. Since I’ve always tended to be a non-conformist most of my life, anyway, this book is more like an affirmation for a life well lived rather than how to live life well. I’ve got the first two parts of the subtitle down pat: Set Your Own Rules, Live the Life You Want. I just need to work on the third part – and Change the World.

Are you ready for me, World? Just wait until I finish reading this book! Mwa-ha-ha!

The author caught me with the first sentence in the Prologue: When you were a kid and wanted to do something your parents or teachers didn’t like, you may have heard the question, “If everyone else jumped off a bridge, would you?”

Mom? Is that you being channeled through this book?

Then, in the first chapter, Chris Guilleneau lists the following four principles:

You Must Be Open to New Ideas Check!
You Must Be Dissatisfied With the Status Quo Check!
You Must Be Willing to Take Personal Responsibility Check!
You Must Be Willing to Work Hard Check! Check! Check!

One of the worst excuses I ever heard (and this was usually made at sales conferences) for not being able to consider, let alone adapt, any new approach or way of thinking that I offered to the meeting was, “But we’ve never done it that way before…” I really hope this book will counter those many experiences of rejection, and put down, and will confirm for me that I’ve been dancing to the right drummer all this time – the right drummer FOR ME! I think I’m really going to enjoy this book!

And now, after scooping this picture of the cover from the internet, I discovered why I put the book on hold in the first place – the same author has written and recently published a book that also looks interesting. The $100 Startup: Reinvent the Way You Make a Living, Do What You Love, and Create a New Future. Yep! Sounds like just what I need!

So… how’s that for a preview of a book? I’ll be back later with the reviews, once I’ve finished reading both of these.

