Island in the Clouds – the Mane Read!

Whoa, Nelly! I just received an entry for my Island in the Clouds – Where in the World??? promotion that came as a total surprise – and it’s an incredible delight!

About a lifetime ago, I repped for Polestar Books when they began publishing collections of hockey cartoons by Dave Elston of Calgary, who was, at that time, the only full time sports cartoonist in, well, the world. I sold scads of his first three publications, Elston on Ice, Elston Back to the Drawing Board, and Elston’s Hat Trick, but then quit my job and moved to the Caribbean and, unfortunately, lost track of Dave. We reconnected, though, when I returned to Canada. He’d married Kaida and they were managing horse stables just west of Calgary. They have a couple of horses on the land surrounding their house and it didn’t take much begging before I was invited to hang out with Dave, Kaida and the horses. (I don’t ride, but I have always loved patting and talking to these wonderful animals, and I love watching them run – something I picked up from my grandfather, I guess.) Dave had given up on drawing sports cartoons and is now instead drawing – you guessed it – horses!

So imagine my surprise just now when Kaida sent me this:

There are copies available of all of Dave’s previous publications. Contact me if you’re interested in buying any of them. Dave is currently at work on a new collection. Stay tuned for more news about that!

Thanks, Dave and Kaida!

