Island in the Clouds – Where in the World??

I know many readers have already bought, downloaded, and read/are reading/or are about to read the eBook of my new novel, Island in the Clouds. I thank you for that, from the bottom of my heart!

I was just thinking though that, knowing how far-flung my friends and readers are, it might be fun to see exactly where in the world my novel is being read, and by whom. So I’m asking that you send me a picture of whatever device you’re reading on – whether it be an eReader or your computer – with either the cover showing or the title page or a page of text, and the setting where you’re reading it visible in the background. So whether it’s a local coffee shop or restaurant, the beach (or, if you’re in Toronto, The Beach!), your verandah or boat, your office or living room or bedroom, garden or park, I want to see exactly where you are while you’re reading. Tell us where that place is located, too, and throw in a comment about my novel, if you feel so inclined. If you don’t like the novel but still want to send me a photo, I won’t be any the wiser, unless you tell me you don’t like it – in which case, I will just delete your comments and post the photo anyway… 🙂

But, seriously, let’s make this as unserious and fun as possible! And, just to get the ball rolling, here’s where Dennis read Island in the Clouds on his new Kobo, although sans the gun on the table and while drinking coffee rather than a rum and coke…

There may be a prize – I haven’t decided on that yet or upon which criteria the photos will be judged. so just send your pictures now, for the fun of it. You may also send any weblinks you want me to include along with your name. (All you authors will appreciate this added bit of promotion you too will receive from posting your photos of my novel!) I will include as much, or as little, info as you wish me to. Send your entries to my email address: susanmtoy (at) gmail.com or post below in the comments if you know how to post an attachment there. I don’t know how to do this, so don’t ask me!

And here’s an earworm for you to listen to while you’re preparing your entry … It came to mind when I began writing this post, and I’m very happy to share!

4 responses

  1. Reblogged this on what looks in and commented:
    Susan M. Toy, if she ever thinks inside the box, never closes the flaps. Back when we first me through the Humber School for Writers online WebCT, we very quickly connected over food memories, recipes, Firefly episodes, school and writing. Oh, and a mutual sense of isolation in two very different places: She on the island of Bequia in the Caribbean, and at my desk in Kelowna, British Columbia.

    Since Humber, Susan moved to Calgary and for a time resumed a former life as a book rep. Until she went rogue, that is, and began promoting books and authors under her own banner, Alberta Books Canada.

    “When Mennonites Don’t Dance gets published, I’ll do everything I can to help it get off the ground,” Susan told me. And oh! Susan has been such a friend, to me and my book. Not only helping me get my kite the air, but taking turns running to keep that kite flying between gusts of wind. (Susan has even chauffeured me on more than one occasion, making sure I arrived at no fewer than five speaking engagements that she arranged for me in Alberta.)

    Having just e-published her first novel, Island in the Clouds (print edition to follow), I’m so happy to celebrate with her. I’m no chauffeur, and spend most of my time with my box flaps down, but I can cheer her on and so that’s what I’m doing.

    I’m just glad she, also, has Susan M. Toy on her side, with the clever (enviably so) idea to let her readers join her in marking up the map with some of the places Island in the Clouds has already been.

    1. Where’s the “Like-a-lot!” button???

  2. on my to-do list for tomorrow!

