Ms. Eternal-Optimism

This has been quite the month… Returned from a very successful library conference in Edmonton, full of ideas and ambitions for planned business ventures in the future, only to trip and break my wrist; lost a good friend through total miscommunication; attended the WGA conference where I met up with many writers, friends, and collected their signatures on my cast; saw and spoke with Robert Kroetsch for what turned out to be the last time; had an “interesting” drive to the Okanagan and West Kootenays; visited with longtime friends in both places; received word that Robert Kroetsch had died, but no one I was with at the time knew who he was; hit and killed a deer while driving to Fernie – still dealing with damage to the car; attended my niece’s wedding in Fernie; visited my university roomie and her husband in Lethbridge; back to Calgary and on to Leduc for Robert Kroetsch’s memorial service; broke my glasses and had to get them repaired… I think that about covers it. Oh, yeah, and I celebrated another birthday in amongst all of that.

Now I’m swamped with work, which is a good thing as some of it may eventually begin to pay off. And wouldn’t that be something! Financial Freedom is what I’m working toward. So my mantra is Work/Eat/Sleep/Repeat right now until I can get caught up. Am trying to stay off Facebook, etc., too. We’ll see just how bad this addiction is that I have to it.

But it is time to put a very frustrating, action-packed, and emotional month behind me and carry on. We’re half-way through 2011. Let’s hope the second half of this very crazy year proves to be much better than the first half. Even my eternally optimistic attitude is being tested by all that’s gone on.

I should add the good things that did happen to me was that I began working with a business coach who is doing her best to get me organized, and my editor – and good friend – moved into my apartment building on July 1st! How many writers can claim to have their own personal in-house editor living just a few stairs away?

3 responses

  1. Missing you, Susan! Looking forward to some downtime with you in Fernie.
    Hang in there. You made it. Things are looking up.

  2. bettyjanehegerat

    Optimism works in dealing with some disappointments and rough patches, but in the face of real loss, we need to grieve. Sadness and admitting that we hurt are all part of the process. Be kind and patient with yourself, Susan. Do the things that are important to you, hang out with the people who matter to you.

    And I’m so glad that there are some good things stirring, Meanwhile, add relax and indulge to the mantra.

  3. Amen to that whole heart-rending list, Susan! It is a reminder to be grateful, to take care of ourselves and our loved ones (including our cars), and to be glad for those who love us especially during times like the ones you described!

