I’m negative on negativity

This Pollyanna exterior I portray is not an act. Most of the time, I sport a positive outlook – about my life, my business, the people I work with, my friends, and the state of the world in general (in spite of all the non-human-made tragedies we’ve witnessed recently). This hasn’t always been me in my life, but after the agony of a mid-life crisis during which I spun off in a direction I never expected to take, I try to avoid negative thoughts, negative people, and generally see the positive in, well, everything. So it was with pleasure that I realized I would be away from Canada for three weeks of this current unnecessary election, and would not be constantly barraged by reminders of just exactly why I have become apolitical. Okay, maybe not without a political conscience altogether, but I still believe that Canada’s voting is relatively secret, and I don’t think you need to know how I plan to vote, just as I don’t want to know how you will cast yours – or require your encouragement or suggestions that the way you vote is the way I should also vote.

Besides, everyone on Facebook – no matter how well-meaning they are with their pronouncements – is very negative. “DON’T vote for so-and-so, because he/she’s an idiot and I don’t like them…” I was discussing this situation last night with a Canadian friend who is here for the week, and he said the negative campaign ads airing in the country are only doing a thorough job of turning him off ALL the parties and their candidates, rather than helping him make up his mind. But this current election is a tip of the iceberg in our society. Negativity abounds…

I read an extremely positive, glowing, G&M review of Jackson Browne’s concert at Massey Hall last night (Damn! Wish I’d heard him there, although the Jack Singer was an extremely good venue), and read through the comments, which concurred with the review, except for one that complained, “Too expensive for just one guy.” Give me a break! When that one guy is Jackson Browne, and he sings all his own songs, any amount of money is worth it. And no one was holding a gun to your head to buy a ticket.

Right now, I’m in the land of Can’t Do, as I’ve decided to nickname this country. I’m reminded every day of why I moved back to Canada. But this topic deserves a post all to itself.

So please forgive me if I don’t respond to any negative comments, reviews, criticisms, rejections, and the usual publishing comments (possibly one of the most negative businesses in existence) like, “We can’t do that. We’ve never done it that way before…” – my personal bugbear. We have a coffee mug with the saying, “Don’t let the turkeys get you down,” written on the side. That is now my motto. What do they know, anyway, when they can’t see the world as I do, with a positive attitude, and all the time grinning like an eejit.

index

6 responses

  1. Great post, Susan. Your attitude is an inspiration!

  2. Here, here! It’s so easy to get caught up in negativity and not realize when you start spewing it yourself. The past few months it has been a goal of mine to be mindful of always speaking positively – very difficult, but it just makes you feel better!!

  3. Janet MacMillan

    Brilliantly said, Susan! Exactly the line I prefer to take, too.

    1. Maybe this is a necessary attitude for all editors…

  4. Yay, Susan! This is one of the many reasons why I like you.

    1. Thanks, Teri! Life’s too short to not enjoy every minute!

